Salmon Spread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsSneed
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
It was great! Made it right inside the plastic container of cream cheese. I used canned, drained salmon (tastes just as good). I didn't use the Worcester. I used garlic salt (not powder). My 'seafood seasoning' choice was Old Bay (I'm from Maryland :-) eating it now, warm with crackers & cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I made this using smoked trout rather than salmon and it turned out quite well, although I admit that I tweaked it a bit. I used a lot more than 2 oz. of trout, probably more like three times as much, and I added Old Bay to taste, probably tripling it as well. All the other ingredients were added as indicated in the recipe. I thought it was a bit too stiff to spread, so I added a large dollop of sour cream to help loosen it up. Five stars because Hubs is in smoked trout heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was pretty tasty. I had some leftover grilled salmon, and I thought this would make a nice snack. At first I thought the cream cheese was overwhelming. I was going to add sour scream, but I didn't have any. Instead I added just a little mayonnaise. It still tasted like it was missing something so I added a tablespoon or so of Frank's Hot Sauce. Used a little extra Old Bay (as my seafood seasoning), a pinch of dill, and a pinch of paprika. Turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Very good! I used two 4oz packages of smoked salmon, added a bit of horseradish, dill weed, extra lemon juice and splash of hot sauce (Louisiana Hot Sauce) and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I used this recipe to make a smoked arctic char dip, but made one modification. I used equal parts cream cheese and smoked char. The end result was a creamy, meaty, smoke-flavored, near heavenly dip that has absolutely floored everyone who has tasted it! Here in AK, folks love their salmon dips but this one stands out above the rest. IMO, can be used with salmon, trout and definitely arctic char!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Great recipe but absolutely fantastic with a few modifications. I used equal parts cream cheese and salmon (smoked), added a few cloves of fresh garlic, used half a lemon, and a few shakes of cayenne pepper. Scoop with a nice cracker and finish off with your favorite hot sauce (I recommend Chipotle Tabasco).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This spread is absolutely perfect for bagels on Sunday morning! Very elegant too, I have also used this for finger roll ups with whole wheat tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Grilled my own salmon. Added 1/4 cup FF plain yogurt to make it a little easier to dip. Subbed dill for the seafood seasoning. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eufaula, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Was VERY cream cheesy even though I nearly tripled the salmon. Would have really liked a more salmony recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jabaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Made this for a bridal shower and served it in bite-sized cream puffs. My sister, giver of the shower, and my brother-in-law loved it. They would have eaten the whole thing with crackers the night before the shower. They rated it a 12. I made the puffs the morning of the shower. The guests liked it also. I love salmon but did not like this. I do not know if it was because the salmon was smoked. I love fresh salmon. The recipe was so easy that anyone walking into a kitchen for the first time could make this with ease. Also it's quick to make when company pops in. The only changes I made were using the light cream cheese instead of the regular. And, per my sister, added another ounce of salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States