Salmon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
We eat a lot of salmon at our house and this is our favorite way to use up the leftovers. I doctor it up a little according to our tastes, but over all it is perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This recipe was wonderful. I took another viewer's advice by switching capers for dill. Instead of canned tuna, I used Lime-Marinated Grilled Salmon, also from this site. It gave it a great flavor. It was a great change of pace from the standard tuna salad. Thanks for the outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
excellent, I used full fat mayo and yorgurt as well as wild canned alaskan salmon and it was great the yogurt really lightens it up. oh and i hate capers so i omitted them. Overall a nice change from tuna salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe! I used left-over grilled salmon rather than the canned. I added chopped walnuts, cut back on the celery and capers, and used a couple of shakes of cayenne rather than the black pepper. I served it on bagels with slices of smoked mozzarella, chopped tomatoes and lettuce. FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This was very good! I avoid tuna and this was a yummy alternative. I like salmon better than tuna anyway. I had no plain yogurt so I used light sour cream instead. I also only used half of the celery, and left out the capers and added dill. Used Trader Joe's wild Alaskan canned salmon. Ate as a sandwich on whole-grain bread, with sliced avocados and baby lettuces. So good! Next time I might add a dash of lemon juice and some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I'm learning to love salmon as I do tuna - it's got more omega-3 stuff and less mercury....you know the information. I had a small can of salmon in my pantry that I avoided opening for the longest time...kindof squeamish about opening it. Once I did, I found this AllRecipes salmon salad and really loved it. CAUTION: the first time I made this I used a small (6-7 oz.) can of salmon; it was very similar to canned tuna. The NEXT time, I got enthusiastic about the success and used the large can (around 14-15 oz.)...the contents/salmon in the larger can were FAR less processed....I had to pick out skin and little bits of cartilidge (?) - white bits of whatever. I "soldiered" through, but cringed as I cleaned out the contents to an edible stage.) I substituted fat-free sour cream for the plain yogurt, squirted some lemon juice in, added a little salt (capers bring their own briny-salty taste) and doubled the pepper called for (I love lemon-pepper seasoning....didn't have any). Suggestion - don't be shy adding other veggies to this if you're not going to make an old-fashioned "tuna/or salmon" salad sandwich....I've added sliced radish, grated carrot, diced cucumber...have fun with it (as with tuna salad)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This salmon salad was delicious! I followed directions to the letter and served with crackers. This was devoured by my family. This is great as is and can be modified easily. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made this yesterday and it was fantastic. I stuffed the salad in a tomato for lunch. The only change I made was adding chopped red onion. With plenty left over for lunch today, I decided to change up what was left. I added some liquid smoke and chopped salted cashews. WOW. This was fantastic also. Very versatile. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was really good. I made the following revisions: I used 4 tablespoons of Mayo with Olive Oil only. I used about 2 T of fresh dill, 1/2 tsp of lemon juice, no capers, 1 cup of chopped celery, 1/8 tsp of garlic powder, and fresh pepper. I also threw in 2 green onions sliced small. Very tasty and now I can get find another use for canned salmon other than salmon cakes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flatwoods, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, except I used baked salmon marinated in olive oil, garlic, butter and pepper. Baked semi frozen salmon filet for 35 min at 400 Degrees. BF loved it... he sampled it on a rosemary cracker and just raved over and over how good it was. So now he has a much nicer lunch than tuna fish for the rest of the week. This really is a fantastic recipe! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States