Salmon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
I hate tuna salad but I love salmon. I substituted dill for capers and added a little chopped onion. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was really good. I made the following revisions: I used 4 tablespoons of Mayo with Olive Oil only. I used about 2 T of fresh dill, 1/2 tsp of lemon juice, no capers, 1 cup of chopped celery, 1/8 tsp of garlic powder, and fresh pepper. I also threw in 2 green onions sliced small. Very tasty and now I can get find another use for canned salmon other than salmon cakes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flatwoods, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe! I used left-over grilled salmon rather than the canned. I added chopped walnuts, cut back on the celery and capers, and used a couple of shakes of cayenne rather than the black pepper. I served it on bagels with slices of smoked mozzarella, chopped tomatoes and lettuce. FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
excellent, I used full fat mayo and yorgurt as well as wild canned alaskan salmon and it was great the yogurt really lightens it up. oh and i hate capers so i omitted them. Overall a nice change from tuna salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This was very good! I avoid tuna and this was a yummy alternative. I like salmon better than tuna anyway. I had no plain yogurt so I used light sour cream instead. I also only used half of the celery, and left out the capers and added dill. Used Trader Joe's wild Alaskan canned salmon. Ate as a sandwich on whole-grain bread, with sliced avocados and baby lettuces. So good! Next time I might add a dash of lemon juice and some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is a great basic recipe for Salmon Salad. I did use a large can of Salmon, drained, removed skin and crushed the bones. I used regular Mayo and unflavored Greek style yogurt. I don't care for capers, per another reviewer suggestion I used 3/4 tsp. of dill. The dill complimented the tang of the yogurt nicely. Curry powder would be a nice seasoning for this dish, I would start with 1/2 tsp. then adjust up if needed. I served this on artisan bread with red leaf lettuce and sliced tomato. Cantaloupe was served as well. A nice Zinfandel, fresh limeade would be a great beverage choice with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
The use of yogurt here a great idea for lowering calories without sacrificing too much flavor. Wonderful recipe Jessica! Thanks for sharing. Question: I bought a can of wild caught pink salmon (my first time buying canned salmon) and was disappointed to find plenty of bones and some skin residues along with the salmon. I suspect this isn't in all canned salmon versions. Can anyone recommend a brand that comes without the bones? Thanks in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
It was a little bland as written for my personal taste. I bumped up the flavor with celery seed, finely chopped green onions, dill weed, diced red bell pepper, and sweet salad cubes. I started with a teaspoon of each and adjusted as I went along. I used envelopes of salmon and not canned. I served on whole wheat flatbread, with spring greens on top and a squeeze of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAME673

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This was delicious, Jessica. I used leftover salmon from our Balsamic Glazed Salmon Fillets, (recipe also from this site). Only had mayo, added a bit of dill and used Lawry's Seasoned Pepper. Served on a bed of baby lettuce with sliced cucumber, avocado and grape tomatoes around the edge of the dish. Sprinkled with lemon juice. Nice change of pace from tuna, and made for a beautiful presentation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
it was good, in my opinion. Only, I brought it to a potluck dinner and nobody said anything special... so I'll go on experimenting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States