Salmon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Made this for my mother for lunch, and she seemed to like it very well. Had to add another tablespoon of mayo to make it moist enough, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Good light salmon salad. I really like the fact of using yogurt and light mayo and still tastes good. I used dill instead of capers. Made with lefover grilled salmon from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This salmon salad was delicious! I followed directions to the letter and served with crackers. This was devoured by my family. This is great as is and can be modified easily. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I'm learning to love salmon as I do tuna - it's got more omega-3 stuff and less mercury....you know the information. I had a small can of salmon in my pantry that I avoided opening for the longest time...kindof squeamish about opening it. Once I did, I found this AllRecipes salmon salad and really loved it. CAUTION: the first time I made this I used a small (6-7 oz.) can of salmon; it was very similar to canned tuna. The NEXT time, I got enthusiastic about the success and used the large can (around 14-15 oz.)...the contents/salmon in the larger can were FAR less processed....I had to pick out skin and little bits of cartilidge (?) - white bits of whatever. I "soldiered" through, but cringed as I cleaned out the contents to an edible stage.) I substituted fat-free sour cream for the plain yogurt, squirted some lemon juice in, added a little salt (capers bring their own briny-salty taste) and doubled the pepper called for (I love lemon-pepper seasoning....didn't have any). Suggestion - don't be shy adding other veggies to this if you're not going to make an old-fashioned "tuna/or salmon" salad sandwich....I've added sliced radish, grated carrot, diced cucumber...have fun with it (as with tuna salad)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This recipe is very good. The only thing different I did was add ALOT of extra mayo. I will be using this in place of tuna for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
The use of yogurt here a great idea for lowering calories without sacrificing too much flavor. Wonderful recipe Jessica! Thanks for sharing. Question: I bought a can of wild caught pink salmon (my first time buying canned salmon) and was disappointed to find plenty of bones and some skin residues along with the salmon. I suspect this isn't in all canned salmon versions. Can anyone recommend a brand that comes without the bones? Thanks in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cinnybear
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe is awesome for any leftover salmon you may have. I love how the yogurt cuts down on the mayo flavor (and the calories!) I added minced green onions into mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Mine came out a bit too creamy.. maybe next time I'll cut back the mayo/yogurt a smidge. I didnt have celery so I diced cucumber very fine & it seemed to work well. I added some lemon juice right to the salmon (Trader Joes Alaskan-Yum for canned) and a little garlic salt. I wrapped mine in tortillas with the lettuce so the kids 7,9 & 2 would eat without complaining about the capers, and it worked great! They gobbled them down! I will definitely make again and thanks for the great healthful post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This was very good! I avoid tuna and this was a yummy alternative. I like salmon better than tuna anyway. I had no plain yogurt so I used light sour cream instead. I also only used half of the celery, and left out the capers and added dill. Used Trader Joe's wild Alaskan canned salmon. Ate as a sandwich on whole-grain bread, with sliced avocados and baby lettuces. So good! Next time I might add a dash of lemon juice and some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This was delicious, Jessica. I used leftover salmon from our Balsamic Glazed Salmon Fillets, (recipe also from this site). Only had mayo, added a bit of dill and used Lawry's Seasoned Pepper. Served on a bed of baby lettuce with sliced cucumber, avocado and grape tomatoes around the edge of the dish. Sprinkled with lemon juice. Nice change of pace from tuna, and made for a beautiful presentation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States