Salmon Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bethany66
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I'm only giving this a 4 but just because I did it a bit differently and can't say for sure how it would be if I'd followed it exactly. But the version I ended up with was a 5-star, and that's coming from my husband, who is very critical. The quiche texture was light and it had excellent flavor. My version: For the "crust", I used 3 canned refrigerator biscuits, rolled very thin, and pressed into a crock. Instead of cubed Cheddar, I used one cup of shredded Colby Jack, and did NOT add more cheese on top at the end--one cup was plenty. I used dried/minced onions instead of real ones since my husband won't eat real ones. I did put it into a blender but I don't really see any need to do so next time. I think that whisking it together well would produce the same result. Instead of parsley and sage, I used just a little dill weed, because I think think the flavor blends best with salmon, and it still adds the color. I used SMOKED salmon instead of regular salmon, which adds an inordinately different (and better) flavor in my opinion. I cooked it for only 25 minutes but my crock continues to cook for a bit after something comes out of the oven. What a tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
OMG ... a wonderful recipe!!! I love salmon but rarely have canned salmon. Some canned salmon was on sale so I bought some. This recipe caught my eye. I basically followed the recipe ... but used a homemade pie crust. Put the flaked salmon and cheddar cheese on unbaked pie shell. Added the blended liquids w/ spices. Baked for 20 minutes, then topped with grated Parmesan cheese and baked for another 20 minutes. Lovely, lovely combination! Boo hoo to the reviewer that sad cheddar cheese and salmon is not a good combination. BTW, my grandfather was a commercial salmon fisherman in Astoria, OR. Salmon is near and dear to my heart. My mother lived into her early 90's because she probably had salmon every day of her life growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by marianne
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I just made it today. I had to cook it longer than the 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was easy to make I added mushroom as suggested from another receipt on this site. Delicious. Thank you ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I'm not sure what went wrong with this recipe, I made it exactly as it says, except I chopped up a bit more onions. I'm not sure if that made a difference, but eventhough I used a 9in frozen crust like it says, the whole thing overflowed, did not cook all the way and when we did try it it was SO bad. No flavor at all. I'm really confused as to what went wrong because obviously most people enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My family loved it. I used cream cheese and cheddar and an extra egg because some people said it was runny.I bought 2 deep dish pie shells and somehow the mixture of one pie fit in 2 so I just added an extra can of salmon and added a bunch of cheese until it was full.It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Schmiers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hnoel
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I wasn't sure if I was going to like this, but I had leftover sockeye to use up. It was SO yummy! Used a ready-to-roll-out refrigerated crust. Didn't use the blender, just whisked the milk, eggs, spices(added some cayenne because I love it in quiches), and cheese. I used shredded cheese: half mozzarella and half medium cheddar, and threw in a bit of feta. Layered the onions and fish in the bottom of the pie crust, then poured the egg and cheese mixture over it, sprinkling some reserved cheese on top. Also baked it about 10 mins longer until it started to puff a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Great basic! Followed suggestion for only one cup milk, definitely needed seasonings to taste. I never do a pinch of anything and I added a can of crabmeat which added more seafood taste. Simple and yes to variations of cheeses. I used Monterrey and cheddar and grated parmesan on top with sprinkled black pepper. Half hour at 375 and half hour at 350 in glass pie plate, I never use a crust. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Tried it, loved it. Couple minor modification due to lack of ingredients. Used whole milk, layered 3 slices of American cheese over salmon before pouring other ingredients. Baked 1/2 hour 1@ 375 and additional 1/2 hr @325. Delicious, I also used no fail pie crust II, an all recipes favorite of mine. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States