Salmon Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
First off, this recipe is not as difficult as it may first appear. I had dinner on the table in 45 minutes. This dish has great presentation; my husband said it was "fancy." The filling is very rich. A little goes a long way so be sparing. In the future I will probably add some spinach as the author suggested for more color, nutrition, and variety. Overall, a lovely dish for the not-too-picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
This was real tasty, just got done eating it. I made it half peppered smoked salmon & half tiny shrimp and it was exceptional. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Instead of puff pastry, I used bisquick and rolled it out way thin. That was good too. I love seafood. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
I made a few changes since my family doesn't care for Feta cheese. I mixed finely chopped green onion with 1/2 cup cream cheese and 1/2 cup Miracle Whip, 1/4 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese and the salmon; then I filled puff pastry shells and baked according to instructions. This recipe made a wonderful appetizer tray for our fishing club's outdoor BBQ. Thanks Kay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
These appetizers were quite tasty and were quite 'fancy' looking. I had quite a bit of leftover 'stuffing' for the puff pastry. I think I could have halved the stuffing (smoked salmon, etc.) and been great. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Janel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I omitted the cheese - didn't want any special trips to the store. These are delish. I put lemon zest, S&P on the fish that I cubed and dried very well. Be sure to refrigerate the dough parcels for about 15 minutes before baking. Serve with a dill sauce, creme fraiche or alone...they are wonderful and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Mmmm these were so cute! I loosely based my puffs off these, using cheddar cheese instead of ricotta. I could have added more though, since a lot of it oozed out. Oh well, I'll pay more attention to that next time. Yes, there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Great recipe! After reading the reviews and I used Bisquick as well instead of the frozen puffs. The result was a smaller dumpling version of the puffs which was good but maybe the frozen puffs could have made it a bit more airy or crispy. I substituted the feta for reduced fat cream cheese, then added green onions and spinach. They were fantastic! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
There was way too much filling for the amount of puffs this made, but it was tasty. Whipped up some dill sauce to go with it and made it a meal although it really is better suited to an appetizer. I'm going to cook some pasta and throw the rest of the salmon/feta mix in with some olive oil, red peppers and olives to make a nice cold pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I found the combination of feta cheese and smoked salmon too salty. This recipe would be better with fresh cooked salmon or substitue feta cheese with cream cheese. There needs to be more balance for all the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States