Salmon Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jess
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This recipe has a lot of potential. With a few tweaks, this was a seriously yummy meal! I, too, am always looking for new recipes to use canned salmon. This was quick, easy, and the finished product looked great. I had extra potatoes so I followed the other suggestions to use mashed potatoes instead of rice. I boiled two large baking potatoes, mashed them up with some sour cream and a bunch of seasoning ( 1 t of oregano, fresh ground black pepper, basil, thyme, parsley, plus a healthy kick of cayenne pepper!) I doubled the cheddar cheese and layered everything twice (bottom crust, mashed potato mix, sauteed onion mix, salmon, cheese, sauteed onion, salmon, potato, cheese, top crust). We could barely wait for the pie to cool before trying it since it smelled so good. My husband actually wiped the bowl clean with his finger-not normal behavior, believe me! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
I tried this recipe and loved it, and then tried making it with potatoes instead of rice, and used cream of asparagus soup...even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This recipe turned out great! I love the sauteed onions on top. I'm surprised that the recipe didn't specify this, but I definitely recommend using RED salmon - it's more costly for a reason! For those who prefer, 3-4 cups of mashed potatoes (not instant) can be substituted for the rice, and adding parsley, pepper, and a teaspoon of thyme or your favorite seasonings (Italian) add nicely. A great, tweakable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
This is SO good! I used brown rice instead of white rice in an attempt to make it a little healthier. I also used leftover baked salmon instead of canned -- I just flaked it on -- and it turned out great! I just wish pie crust weren't so bad for you... otherwise, I'd make this recipe all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly, except I halved it for the two of us, put it in a quiche pan and just used the top crust. It was very good, and a different way to use salmon. The flavor was satisfying and good as is, but I might take the suggestions of other reviewers and add some dill and/or lemon pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is great and pretty easy to make. Per a few others' suggestions, I used mashed potatoes instead of the rice. I also added the cream of mushroom soup to the mushrooms and onions. Lastly, it turned out that I had enough filling to make two pies so I did that instead. The mashed potatoes were the top layer and I didn't put more pastry on top. I sprinkled on the cheddar cheese ten minutes before the pie finished baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I didn't have fresh mushrooms, so I substituted 2 4oz cans drained well. Everything else as recipe stated and it was very nice. Served with Tomato pie II from this site. Good combo according to those who ate the supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2000
If you like salmonn, this is it. very tasty. Will be a regular ai our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was wonderful and full of flavor. I used store bought crust. Made two pies and my husband ate 1 whole pie by himself. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
This recipe turned out great! I did add some basil, oregano, dill and salt and pepper to the mushroom mixture and it was awesome. My husband loved it! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States