Salmon Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I kept the basic recipe with changes. I added a little lemon juice and one egg to the salmon mixture. Instead of rice I par-boiled potatoes and sliced and placed them on top with a little salt and pepper, and no top pastry crust. Came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was wonderful and full of flavor. I used store bought crust. Made two pies and my husband ate 1 whole pie by himself. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Perfect! Just perfect. Everyone really liked this dish and asked that I make it again. I really enjoyed it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chakra Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by outnumbered
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Very good, but I did change a lot. I did the rice, soup, and a cup of frozen mixed veggies for one of the layers and omitted one can of salmon. After each later, I topped it with dill, fresh pepper, parsley, garlic, and onion powder. Used the "never fail pie crust 2" on this website and it was so good, filling, and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jess
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This recipe has a lot of potential. With a few tweaks, this was a seriously yummy meal! I, too, am always looking for new recipes to use canned salmon. This was quick, easy, and the finished product looked great. I had extra potatoes so I followed the other suggestions to use mashed potatoes instead of rice. I boiled two large baking potatoes, mashed them up with some sour cream and a bunch of seasoning ( 1 t of oregano, fresh ground black pepper, basil, thyme, parsley, plus a healthy kick of cayenne pepper!) I doubled the cheddar cheese and layered everything twice (bottom crust, mashed potato mix, sauteed onion mix, salmon, cheese, sauteed onion, salmon, potato, cheese, top crust). We could barely wait for the pie to cool before trying it since it smelled so good. My husband actually wiped the bowl clean with his finger-not normal behavior, believe me! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly, except I halved it for the two of us, put it in a quiche pan and just used the top crust. It was very good, and a different way to use salmon. The flavor was satisfying and good as is, but I might take the suggestions of other reviewers and add some dill and/or lemon pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This recipe is excellent. DBF's been wanting a salmon pie for a while. I made it last night and he was thrilled. He thought it was a bit "fancy" with the rice mixture but loved every bite. I was thinking it might be nice to substitute some chopped broccoli or spinach for the mushrooms. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was very good. I took the advice in adding some seasoning to the salmon mixture. Also, For cheese lovers, I would add an additional layer of cheese, after the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I'm sorry to rain on the parade, but I thought this was a little weird. It's entirely possible that I messed it up. I used instant mashed potatoes instead of rice (mashed potatoes mixed with cream of mushroom soup is pretty good). If it sounds good to you, then by all means, listen to the other 15 reviewers! Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States