Salmon Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jess
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This recipe has a lot of potential. With a few tweaks, this was a seriously yummy meal! I, too, am always looking for new recipes to use canned salmon. This was quick, easy, and the finished product looked great. I had extra potatoes so I followed the other suggestions to use mashed potatoes instead of rice. I boiled two large baking potatoes, mashed them up with some sour cream and a bunch of seasoning ( 1 t of oregano, fresh ground black pepper, basil, thyme, parsley, plus a healthy kick of cayenne pepper!) I doubled the cheddar cheese and layered everything twice (bottom crust, mashed potato mix, sauteed onion mix, salmon, cheese, sauteed onion, salmon, potato, cheese, top crust). We could barely wait for the pie to cool before trying it since it smelled so good. My husband actually wiped the bowl clean with his finger-not normal behavior, believe me! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2000
If you like salmonn, this is it. very tasty. Will be a regular ai our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
This is SO good! I used brown rice instead of white rice in an attempt to make it a little healthier. I also used leftover baked salmon instead of canned -- I just flaked it on -- and it turned out great! I just wish pie crust weren't so bad for you... otherwise, I'd make this recipe all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This recipe turned out great! I love the sauteed onions on top. I'm surprised that the recipe didn't specify this, but I definitely recommend using RED salmon - it's more costly for a reason! For those who prefer, 3-4 cups of mashed potatoes (not instant) can be substituted for the rice, and adding parsley, pepper, and a teaspoon of thyme or your favorite seasonings (Italian) add nicely. A great, tweakable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This recipe was so good. We just love salmon and I love finding a new way to use canned salmon. I didn't have any fresh mushrooms so just let what was in the soup be good enough. I just added some minced, dried onions to rice mixture. Also, when I went to get the cheddar cheese, my little "rats" had eaten it for lunches and snacks so I used mozzerella and it still came out very good. Thanks for a very tasty and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This was excellent. I added a generous amount of lemon dill seasoning and some salt and pepper. Will be more generous with cheese next time. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by outnumbered
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Very good, but I did change a lot. I did the rice, soup, and a cup of frozen mixed veggies for one of the layers and omitted one can of salmon. After each later, I topped it with dill, fresh pepper, parsley, garlic, and onion powder. Used the "never fail pie crust 2" on this website and it was so good, filling, and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Perfect! Just perfect. Everyone really liked this dish and asked that I make it again. I really enjoyed it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chakra Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was wonderful and full of flavor. I used store bought crust. Made two pies and my husband ate 1 whole pie by himself. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I kept the basic recipe with changes. I added a little lemon juice and one egg to the salmon mixture. Instead of rice I par-boiled potatoes and sliced and placed them on top with a little salt and pepper, and no top pastry crust. Came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States