Salmon Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is great and pretty easy to make. Per a few others' suggestions, I used mashed potatoes instead of the rice. I also added the cream of mushroom soup to the mushrooms and onions. Lastly, it turned out that I had enough filling to make two pies so I did that instead. The mashed potatoes were the top layer and I didn't put more pastry on top. I sprinkled on the cheddar cheese ten minutes before the pie finished baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
We made this with mashed potatoes instead of rice. Everyone loved it. We will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I followed some of the suggestions in the comments and replaced the rice with potatoes and added powdered garlic, sage, parsley, and pepper. I only had one pie crust so I put mashed potatoes on top like a shepherd's pie. I had two frozen salmon fillets so I cooked those and used them instead of tinned salmon. Maybe California onions are extraordinarily big, but I thought there was too much onion and it overwhelmed the mushroom and salmon. Next time I will double the mushroom and halve the onion. Otherwise, quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
My husband gave this recipe a 4/5..."tasty""filling" were his responses. I used the never, never fail recipe from this site..."moist, flaky". I will add more vegies next time round....peppers, zucchini, maybe some nuts. Be sure to eat with tartar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I thought this pie was excellent! I didn't use the top crust. Will definately make again. It was even great the next day for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I used potato for the rice and leeks for the onion + other herbs. Num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Was looking for something to do with canned salmon and came across this recipe. Followed it exactly, but had to cook a little longer to get it to brown. My husband and I both liked it & will cook again. Will try stuffing with other items such a peas, or with mashed potatoes as others suggest next time. If reheating leftovers do so in a toaster oven so it doesn't get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I didn't have fresh mushrooms, so I substituted 2 4oz cans drained well. Everything else as recipe stated and it was very nice. Served with Tomato pie II from this site. Good combo according to those who ate the supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Quite yummy. I added basil, oregano, dill and garlic to the salmon layer. I also added a cup of frozen cooked peas and about a cup of fresh spinach, I would of added more but that was all I had on hand. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennHoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Fishing Wild Salmon

See the Knutson family recipe for pan-fried wild salmon.

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States