Salmon Pea Wiggle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
My grandmother use to make this when we would visit her in Nashua,NH,she passed and I tried to ask the family for the recipie but no one knew how she did it,now I do and it brought back memorys of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
delicious and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This recipe is an awesome way to get kids to eat salmon. I never heard of this recipe til about 5 years ago, my boyfriends mother made it, and when I asked what it was, she replied, "it's Salmon Pea Wiggle!". Been in love with it since. I like to make it just so I can say the name lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I agree it is best to make a lump free white sauce first. 2T flour, 2T butter (or oil), and 1 cup milk is the basic recipe. Double it for this one. Melt the butter, add the flour, cook briefly (45 sec), add the milk and thicken. Add milk if too thick. Then add canned (or preferably frozen) peas. Heat. Then add the salmon keeping chunks. Heat on the lowest setting. Red salmon is better than Pink. Strangely, fresh caught cooked salmon is not as good as canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I grew up loving this recipe, and made it by making a rue first with butter and flour, then adding the milk peas and salmon......eating it over saltines, boiled or mahsed potatoes....brings back warm childhood memories of simpler days...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
to all of you that thought this was too "saucy", well that is what this food is. it's why its called salmon pea WIGGLE, and not salmon pea casserole! it's meant to be used like a gravy. this is just like my grandmother made it, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derby, Vermont, USA
Living In: Herington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I halved this recipe to make 2 good sized servings and served it over sliced potatoes. Also used frozen peas. It was quite tasty, not to mention healthy and quick! It's like a faster version of tuna (or I guess salmon) casserole. I'll make this again, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I substituted 2 cans of tuna, saving the juice to use as part of the milk for the gravy. I have made this twice and served it once over biscuits and once over saltines. My 3 and 5 year old sons loved it! I also used frozen peas! Quick and healthy with skim milk too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Thanks for posting. I hadn't thought about this recipe in years. My cousin and I used to go into hysterics when we heard her ribald brother's (10-year-old sense of humor)name for this recipe, much to their mother's disgust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I am so happy to have found this recipe. I grew up eating this and I love it. It's even better over boiled potatoes mashed with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Maple Salmon

Make this delicious, easy salmon flavored with maple.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States