Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I had never used the big cans of salmon before so it was weird for me to see skin and bones with fish all rolled up.. took me forever to meticulously de-bone them, while my grandfather told me when my grandmother made them they'd just eat the bones O.o Anywho, I always put a Tablespoon or two in my salmon patties, I usually grate the onion but I tried it chopped and LOVED the texture. The only other thing I added was dill. I also had a hard time with them falling apart but once we got the cornmeal on there, it helped a lot. I cooked in cast iron skillet with walnut oil. I used someone else's suggestion and paired it with creamy dill dipping sauce you can search on allrecipes. I used plain yogurt because I had no sour cream and died dill because I had no fresh. This was delicious and I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crys10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Delicious!! what a spectacular recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was a terrible recipe! It was bland and even though I added two more eggs still fell apart while cooking. My kids and husband wouldn't eat any more than they had to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
It's great. Thanks for posting. These were the best I've ever made. I used my electric frypan. The cornmeal helped set the patties and gave them a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
if you add some leftover mashed potatoes, a few tbsp of fresh dill chopped up,omit the crackers and form into patties they turned out great with a nice dill sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Vanderwalde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Since some of the reviews stated that their patties wouldn't hold together, I checked my mixture. Mine was not wet enough either, so what wet ingredient did we add....egg. I used a second egg and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
These were very good, simple and quick...3 great things when put together for a recipe! We didnt use the celery as we hate celery and they were great without it! I used a Lemon Sauce that was posted on here and it was awesome! will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I used this recipe as a base. I make a similar one usually, except I omit the celery and add about a teaspoon of brown mustard and a little old bay. Make sure you drain MOST of the juice from the can. Really break apart the meat and bones with a fork, I think it holds together better when it's not huge flakes of fish. I see some complaining about it being dry, but I think people over look the fact that you don't add the cornmeal to the inside of the mixture, just the outside. Put your crackers into a zip lock bag and crush with a rolling pin or a heavy glass cup. I found this recipe because I thought the idea of having a crunchy exterior of cornmeal much like on fried fish would be delicious. And it was! I added a bit of flour to mine too to stretch it a bit, also a little old bay and some chili flakes for some kick! It makes an excellent crust if you fry with a little oil in a cast iron pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Loved this recipe but maded a few changes for more low carb, diabetic friendly and zesty taste: Changed to 1 cup of Italian bread crumbs and added 1/4 cup of grated parmesan. Mixed then 3/4 cup into fish remaining for coating of patties. Also used minced red onions and 2 egg whites instead of whole egg. Pan seared in grapeseed oil. Dip made of with rice vinegar and fat free cream cheese. Even the people at the table without dietary issues enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
these taste good, but they fall apart in the pan trying to flip them, do not like that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States