Salmon Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Pure comfort food!! To avoid a trip to the store, I used mezze penne instead of elbow, chicken stock in place of veg stock & frozen veggies in place of canned. The seafood seasoning in this is spot on, don't be shy with it. I was leary of the red wine vinegar, but decided to go ahead and add it in and I am so glad I did. This is a really good dish! I am already looking forward to the leftovers. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Pixie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
We're not fans of peas, so what I did was saute some fresh carrot with orange pepper, the onion and a little garlic and added it to the noodle mixture. I used Green Giant's yellow and white corn, Cracker Barrel's 2% white cheddar and added a little dijon and Frank's Hot Sauce. Very good "tuna" casserole. I liked that it helped me use some stray cans of food in my pantry plus I could throw in some fresh veg and get away with it. I think next time I might cut back on the noodles and double up on the veg. Maybe make a little more sauce as we like a saucier cheese sauce on our mac and cheese/tuna casseroles. I think this might be our new "tuna" casserole, Pixie! My husband, who claims to hate salmon, ate two bowls! EDITED: Even better the next day. Rewarms well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I used fresh carrots, frozen peas and frozen corn instead of the canned varieties, and a larger can of salmon than called for. I omitted the bread, but sprinkled the Parmesan cheese on top, then garnished with paprika. This turned out to be quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This ended up not really being my thing, but I made a double batch, and froze over half to put in my grandmothers freezer, and she loves it! My can of salmon was bigger than 6oz, but we liked the extra salmon. I left out the corn because I didn't have any, and used pre-made bread crumbs for the topping. It is such a rich and comforting dish. Perfect on a cold day. Thanks pixie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Pixie2
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Yummy!!! it's really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Very good! What a simple and delicious way to get more Omega-3's into your diet! The salmon makes such a great addition to mac n cheese. I made a smaller batch (about half - kind of eyeballed quantities) and only used frozen peas, as I had no other suitable veggies on hand. I omitted the vinegar, used skim milk and added some parmesan to the macaroni mixture as well as using it in the topping. Just delicious! My daughter, who is not a fish-eater, loved it! Will definitely repeat in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I found this to be a little dry. Next time I would add a can of campbells cream of cheddar soup. The flavor was great the old bay was perfect. Being a salmon lover I could also add more and be very happy. My previously non fish loving boy ate it exclaiming over how good it was, actually all 3 of my kids did. I ran out of bread so I crushed ritz crackers with the parmesan cheese and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I loved this! It is different, but really good! The first time I made it, I didn't have the seafood seasoning or enough cheese. The second time I did, and it was much better. Also the second time I made it, I doubled the salmon (when I used one can I could barely tell that there was any salmon in it) and I halved the macaroni because I am trying to cut down on carbs. Half the macaroni was plenty. Also the first time there were too many peas and not enough carrots, so I used a small can of peas and I chopped up about a 1/2 cup of carrots to use. It was way better the second time when I added the missing ingredients and made a few minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I LOVED this with solid white tuna (3 cans)after a few minor changes. It looked like not enough liquid for our tastes (maybe my high fiber pasta soaked more liquid up?) So, I added a can of cheddar-cheese soup and extra 2% milk (about 2 cups). And, we like Parmesan, but thought it might be too much with 3 full Tablespoons, for my kiddie's/my family's liking... so, I only used half. Great idea to add Old Bay. It added a nice depth of flavor. Delicious recipe, Pixie, that I changed only for my family's preferences. Now, I can't wait to try when I have Salmon. Thank you, for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Pure comfort food, but the veggies made me feel guilt free! I made a couple changes based on what I had available, subbed the salmon for crab, and the vegetable stock for chicken. Also left the vinegar out all together. I have made it this was a few times now, still one of my faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States