Salmon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Easy recipe to make. I didn't have crackers or milk on hand, so I subbed all-purpose flour for the crackers. I found the salmon to be salty already, and since I'm African-American and have a family history of hypertension, I decided to leave the salt out. Only one problem--the loaf fell apart when I tried to cut a piece, but that was okay because it tasted so good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaelgarciafan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I followed the recipe (I used fresh salmon fillets) but added the following ingredients for more flavor and color: lemon pepper, onion, dill and red bell pepper. I served it with a creamy lemon/dill sauce, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villefranche-Sur-Saône, Rhône-Alpes, France
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
As written this recipe is pretty bland. Needs some onion, maybe a dash of Tabasco, or a shake or two of cayanne to bring it up a notch. With those additions, it would rate a 3 or 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This recipe was great! My fiancé is not a big fish fan, and he really liked it. I went with other reviews and took the 1/2 cup milk to 1/4 cup. This made for a thicker more loaf like dish. Saltines still make it taste great since other reviewers said they used other crackers. I also used Mrs. Dash 'table seasoning'. It has the perfect aroma and flavor to compliment this dish. It is also salt-free so it will not make the fish too salty for those who do not care for it. I will probably double the recipe next time to make a thicker loaf, but the crispiness was great. It was his favorite part! I bet this would also make a great salmon patties! Thanks so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bri O'Leary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edinburgh, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
My family thought this was good when cooked following the recipe. The only thing I would change would be baking it in muffin tins so that there are more crispy edges, and adding a little bit of minced onion for flavor. Otherwise this is a really good, really easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I have made this Salmon Loaf so many times I practically know it by heart. This is a great, quick, and easy meal when you are on the go. One thing that I added was some more butter and crackers...I used these wheat club crackers and they made it taste even better!!! This recipe deserves 5 stars (no matter what)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Monster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Me and my Guest didn't like the flavor nor the texture. I wouldn't cook this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This is a nice quick recipe for those nights when I want dinner in a hurry. I add a finely chopped onion, 1 tsp dried parsley and a tsp of thousand island dressing sometimes if I want more flavour. This is on our regular weeknight menu. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is a really good recipe. Being from the Northwest, my Son and I love salmon. I had leftover salmon that I had baked with lemon, dill and butter. It was so good, I almost didn't want to put it into a loaf. But since there was not enough for two and I had to use it up, this was the perfect recipe as I didn't want to fry them. I followed the basic recipe but tweaked it as per other reviewers. I changed the recipe to six and added two eggs along with dill, rubbed thyme and onion powder. I also used ritz and other types of crackers. It turned out wonderful and crispy on top. I also used a dill sauce from this site that was really good with this salmon loaf. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was just ok...I prefer salmon patties better. My husband really liked it, but wished it was crispier on top so I may put it into a flatter pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States