Salmon Hash With Potatoes & Dill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
We loved this! I accidentally used baby yams instead of potatoes which ended up tasting awesome. I added bell peppers, shallots, and fresh garlic as a matter of personal taste. It was delicious and a nice alternative for salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a really great recipe, though I found the directions unnecessarily confusing. I basically just saute onions, and fry potatoes until softened and slightly crisp/golden brown. In parallel, I fry two pieces of salmon (I don't use filets). As everything is frying, I prep the sauce. I double the sauce recipe, as I find that the original amount does not completely coat all of the ingredients. I've also recently substituted dried rosemary for fresh dill in the sauce as I was out of the latter. I found this to be even tastier (and less messy) than using dill which I did the first time I made it. Once the salmon is slightly fried, to the point of being softened, I allow it to cool for a few minutes and then mince the fish meat with a knife/my fingers, removing any bones. I then combine potatoes, onions, and salmon in a big frying pan (by this point each is fully cooked), and allow it to fry for 5 mins mixing frequently. Two minutes before I am about to turn off the heat, I pour on the sauce and mix thoroughly. Results are extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carabiniero8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Not bad. I was looking for something to do with left over baked salmon. I'm not a big salmon lover so wanted something more than the salmon and rice and found this. Simple to make and quick. From start to table in about 20 minutes. I used left over cooked salmon and tossed it in the pan for the last 2 minutes with the onions to warm up. And I used 1 tbs dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Easy and tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This recipe was so easy to make and my whole family loved it. I used 1 T. of dried dill weed since I had no fresh on hand and it turned out great. Definitely will make again for breakfast, lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Delicious and easy. Added some butter to the potatoes towards the end to brown them more and add some more flavor. Our new go to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was wonderful! I was skeptical about the ketchup and mustard, but it was lovely together. I also reduced the amount of oil. As a whole, my family and I aren't too keen on dill, so I used fresh rosemary (half the amount that was listed for the dill) and a little lemon thyme. I also added a drizzle of honey to the dressing as I wanted to use Dijon mustard, but also have that little hint of sweetness. WONDERFUL! Give this one a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
It was quite good. I was tempted to leave the mustard/ketchup out of the recipe but then I thought where would the flavor come from so I used honey mustard instead of Dijon and I was pleasantly surprised. Only had red potatoes and they were a bit too solid ... next time I'll use, as suggested, a more starchy potato other than that I was pleasantly pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Altamont, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
My husband scarfed this down - he is a big salmon fan. I thought it was good (but will change a few things next time) and will serve it to family for brunch next weekend. I will reduce the oil as someone else has suggested, and maybe add some diced tomatoes (personal preference- I put them on almost everything) *I would definitely recommend adding the salmon when the onions are just about done. Great alternative to corned beef hash :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZenBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Overall - a Great flavour combination. I was a bit unsure of ketchup and mustard...but it turned out very tasty. I will keep this recipe but would cut out some of the oil. I was intending to make 2 portions but ended up eating it all in one go! I added some capers to add a bit of zing - but quite fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwicook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Firehouse Salmon and Oven-Baked Potatoes

Firefighter chef cooks fresh wild salmon with crisp veggies on the side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States