Salmon Hash With Potatoes & Dill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
My husband scarfed this down - he is a big salmon fan. I thought it was good (but will change a few things next time) and will serve it to family for brunch next weekend. I will reduce the oil as someone else has suggested, and maybe add some diced tomatoes (personal preference- I put them on almost everything) *I would definitely recommend adding the salmon when the onions are just about done. Great alternative to corned beef hash :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZenBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Overall - a Great flavour combination. I was a bit unsure of ketchup and mustard...but it turned out very tasty. I will keep this recipe but would cut out some of the oil. I was intending to make 2 portions but ended up eating it all in one go! I added some capers to add a bit of zing - but quite fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwicook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Really fantastic, I wish I'd taken a picture! It was so, so good, I served it with buttermilk mashed potatoes with green onions and it was great. I broiled my salmon filet with some olive oil, dried oregano, salt & pepper and then when it was done I flaked it with a fork into bite size pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I skipped the ketchup/mustard combo and instead just added dried dill to the whole concoction. I served it with the creamy dill dip (from this site) on the side as an optional thing but everyone ended up using it and raved about how good it was. Overall, great idea. (Love it with poached eggs as well!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marietta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was just ok. Edible, but nothing special. The fish was overcooked, I should have added it at the end of the onions, or cooked separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Excellent hash, and a nice change from the typical corned-beed: crusty, brown, and delicious. I didn't think browned salmon would be so tasty. Because it is such a good basic recipe, it's easy to mix and match proteins and herb flavorings. Just follow the same preparation directions and it will turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a really great recipe, though I found the directions unnecessarily confusing. I basically just saute onions, and fry potatoes until softened and slightly crisp/golden brown. In parallel, I fry two pieces of salmon (I don't use filets). As everything is frying, I prep the sauce. I double the sauce recipe, as I find that the original amount does not completely coat all of the ingredients. I've also recently substituted dried rosemary for fresh dill in the sauce as I was out of the latter. I found this to be even tastier (and less messy) than using dill which I did the first time I made it. Once the salmon is slightly fried, to the point of being softened, I allow it to cool for a few minutes and then mince the fish meat with a knife/my fingers, removing any bones. I then combine potatoes, onions, and salmon in a big frying pan (by this point each is fully cooked), and allow it to fry for 5 mins mixing frequently. Two minutes before I am about to turn off the heat, I pour on the sauce and mix thoroughly. Results are extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carabiniero8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Not bad. I was looking for something to do with left over baked salmon. I'm not a big salmon lover so wanted something more than the salmon and rice and found this. Simple to make and quick. From start to table in about 20 minutes. I used left over cooked salmon and tossed it in the pan for the last 2 minutes with the onions to warm up. And I used 1 tbs dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Easy and tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This recipe was so easy to make and my whole family loved it. I used 1 T. of dried dill weed since I had no fresh on hand and it turned out great. Definitely will make again for breakfast, lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States