Salmon Fillets with Creamy Dill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I don't know how long this recipe has been available at this site, but I don't think I'd ever seen a recipe without rates or reviews before and I want to encourage you to try this dish. It has a yummy, rich topping, definitely not for the person that wants a plain piece of salmon. I recommend making half of the mayonnaise/mustard topping. There is NO way you need as much as the recipe calls for, and that would greatly reduce the fat and calorie count. With that one change I think you'll find this is a delicious way to enjoy your salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
WOW WOW WOW WOW! The creamy dill sauce is absolutely out of this world, yummy! Instead of all mayo, I used 1 cup lowfat plain yogurt and 1/2 cup mayo (to keep it lighter and healthier!), and I only had dijon mustard on hand - so I used that instead of regular mustard. Didn't have thyme, so I used more fresh basil. Also, I find it necessary to season salmon with fresh, crushed garlic and salt/pepper..rubbed in with extra virgin olive oil. Topped each filet with the sauce and baked on olive-oil sprayed foil-lined baking sheet for 15-20 minutes. Thank you so much for this excellent recipe! In my binder, permanently! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
My Husband ACTUALLY ATE SALMON! Very excellent, Only 4 stars becasue why put all that fatty mayo on your healthy fish? I substituted most of the mayo for plain unsweetened yogurt. TERRIFIC. This sauce was so good I will probably use it for any time I want sauce for fish. I just used the dried herbs because that was all I had, no problems, fresh would be even bettr I'm sure. I have to admit I also put a tiny bit of brown sugar in the sauce-maybe a Tablespoon. I squeezed lemon on my fish and sprinkled it with salt and pepper before spreading on the sauce too. Really Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWENSONL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I read the reviews and made a few changes per what people said. Instead of mayo, I used plain lowfat yogurt and dijon mustard. Did not have fresh basil but used dried thyme, basil, oregano and dill to make the sauce. Sprinkled the salmon fillet with salt, fresh ground pepper and garlic powder and spread the dill mixture on top. It was so good! I am glad we had extra sauce because I made roasted red potatoes and broccoli. My 8 year old step-son couldn't stop eating it and he loved dipping the broccoli in the extra sauce. Since it was yogurt and no mayo I figured he could enjoy a little extra and it got lots of green vegetable into him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
The recipe is okay, except that it's a bit oily. The dill sauce keeps the salmon from rendering it's fat pockets, so in the end it's oilier then it should be. It's better to broil/bake the fish with a little salt and pepper, and to use the dill sauce as a dressing on the side of the fish when you plate it. Also I changed the recipe and used 2 parts yogurt and 1 part mayo, with dijon AND brown mustard, with a little Italian herbs and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
The major change I made was substituting low-fat yogurt for all the mayonnaise - it was phenomenal! The yogurt gave it a nice tangy flavor, and it wasn't greasy at all. I also felt better knowing it was a little healthier. The fiance loved this dish (kept going back for more sauce for dipping!), so it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
oh my!! We have never been fish eaters but recently we decided to try this recipe and i am glad we did. i have made this several times and the only thing i did differnet was i rolled the fish in the mixture so it was on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAAMM78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I was just making one portion so I made the topping with about a T of lite mayonnaise, roughly the same amount of Dijon mustard, a pinch of the dried herbs, and a very small of fresh basil (Husband isn't a big fan). I followed the '20 mins per inch thickness' baking rule, and it turned out perfectly. Husband said a little less topping would have been better. But anyway, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Hubby liked much more than I did. I am not a big mayo fan when it comes to fish. I thought that it completely overpowered the taste of the salmon...and would much rather taste my expensive fish. I will make again...for hubby, but reduce the amount of mayo. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
My older sister doesn't eat fish and she tried a bite of this dish and took a bunch home with her. My mother was also thrilled. It was a hit in my family! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Obremski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Salmon fillets baked with a balsamic vinegar, Dijon, and white wine glaze.

Cedar Planked Salmon with Dill

Try this tangy and delicious cedar planked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States