Salmon Deviled Eggs with Homemade Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Not impressed at all. Had a big party and most of these were leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was my first try at mayonnaise and it came out beautifully. Thank you for the recipe! BTW this CAN be mixed up with just a fork and a bowl if anyone is wondering...just put on youtube or something for entertainment because it takes a while! If you're patient though it will come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I used just the mayonnaise part of this recipe as I'm not a fan of deviled eggs. It was SO easy and turned out SO good! Before I began, I had my doubts that I would be able to pull it off, but I needn't have worried. I think the trick is to keep whisking the egg yolks and add the oil a drop at a time. I didn't have any red wine vinegar, so used regular white vinegar and it turned out perfectly. I didn't use the garlic either, but can see adding some roasted garlic, horse radish, whatever you want. I don't use a lot of mayonnaise, so can see myself making it from scratch when I do need it. Thanks for a great, easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Easy recipe for deviled eggs; very tasty! I used the whole amount of mayonnaise, and enjoyed the garlic flavor there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Just rating on the mayonnaise part of the recipe: Not the closest ever made to mayonnaise from the store. Still good, but not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother2Be

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
8 IN THE MORNING, FORGOT TO BUY MAYO, MADE FROM THIS RECIPE. EXCELLENT. I KNOW VINEGAR KEEPS THE WHITE COLOR AND LEMON JUICE DOESN'T. EITHER WILL MAKE EGG CHANGE CHEMISTRY SO IT ABSORBS MORE OIL. I USE TABASCO INSTEAD OF BLACK PEPPER, AND THE MIXER RUINS MAYO, HAND WHISK IS SLOWER AND WON'T BREAK THE EGGS. MY ARMS ARE USED TO THE WHISK...DIDN'T REMEMBER THE EGG/OIL RATIO, THAT'S WHY I SEARCHED FOR THIS RECIPE. I JUST LIKE HOMEADE STUFF BETTER THAN SPENDING MORE AND BUYING STOREBOUGHT. FRESHER. YOU SHOULDN'T REFRIGERATE THE MAYO FOR 8 HOURS TOO, HAS TO FINISH SETTING UP BEFORE REFRIGERATING IT. HOPE THESE TIPS ARE USEFUL. THANK-YOU SO MUCH FOR A GREAT RECIPE, IN MY CASE, JUST THE MAYO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
When I made this with smoked salmon instead of canned, it was wonderful! Top with snipped chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Portia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was AWESOME!!! I can't wait to serve it at my next party! I did not make the mayonnaise from scratch though, I used Hellmann's and just added the garlic, vinegar, salt and pepper to it. I did dollop a little extra on top of the eggs, and used the doctored mayo to make the yolk mixture. Next time I will sprinkle freshly ground pepper on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I used just the mayo recipe and it's fantastic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Just a note from the "author". My original recipe did not call for mixing the "homemade mayonnaise" with the eggs, but to use as a side to top the eggs. We have always made the egg mixture with regular Hellmanns mayo and dolloped the homemade mayonnaise on top. This is the way my mother served it to us in France. It is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

How to Make Deviled Eggs

Learn simple tricks to making these classic hors d'oeuvres.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States