Salmon Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I used bread crumbs because I had no wheat germ, and I also had only fresh salmon. I also added a small carrot that I peeled with a veg peeler then chopped even smaller, and a tiny dash of worchestershire. They were fantastic. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeeeeee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Sooooooo bland. I added Old Bay and red peppers and it was still no bueno. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was quite tasty, but it didn't have the same look as the photo. It would be improved with a beading cover of some kind...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These were great! I tried to stay really close to the recipe, but did use red pepper instead of celery, added some salt and pepper, and used a mix of wheat germ and bread crumbs for my wheat-germ-aphobic husband! Make sure to drain the salmon really well, as mine were a little watery, but I just squeezed them a lot while forming the balls to get rid of extra moisture. My husband said these were a 5-star after spending all afternoon trying to figure out how to get out of eating them! Very impressed, will make again, but definitely double or triple the recipe - this only made two each for me, my husband, and our daughter. I served with coleslaw and corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I needed to use up some leftover salmon I had, and these did the trick! Tasty with a Remoulade sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These croquettes were a little bland. I had omitted the dill because we don't care for it, but added 1/4 t. salt. It still needs something to perk it up a bit. I used bread crumbs to coat and had to add some additional bread crumbs to the mixture to get it to hold together as I formed it into patties. The next time I think I will chill the mixture for an hour to let it "firm up". I baked them for 30 minutes at 350, but suggest turning them after 15 minutes so they brown more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
My mother's salmon croquettes (this is what she called them, never salmon patties or salmon cakes) were always plain and simple, but good. Onion, egg, flour, salt and pepper is all she added. She rolled them in flour. I wondered if there might be something a little different so I went to my favorite site. I found this wonderful recipe at allrecipes. I added a little more onions and celery than it called for. That's probably why they didn't hold together very well. I like the veggies, though, so next time I will add a little flour. I also will add a little salt and pepper. I was worried that the wheat germ would not be a good coating. I was wrong. I will try it in other recipes like fish and checken. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
AMAZING,this is soooooo easy, and delicious, great for just two, I'm always looking for dinners for just two, and this receipe suits the small family, it was easy, fast, and ready in about 30min, changes I made were: added alittle bread crumbs to the mix, I rolled the croquettes in bread crumbs and ground flax, sauted in olive oil. and I wish I had dill on hand, next time I will add it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Oh my goodness! Yum! Super easy, versatile recipe! My 8 yr old girl made it, with my supervision (and I chopped LOL) because she wanted to try salmon in a packet. We also added a drained can of Albacore chunk tuna, since the one packet of salmon just didnt seem like it would make enough as a light lunch for my girl, son, and I. It made 12-14 golf ball shapes of varying size, and she rolled them in crushed Ritz cracker-with-a-bit-of-cornmeal coating (appx 1/4 c cornmeal, 15 crackers) in lieu of wheat germ. I didnt add dill, though I'm sure that would have been amazing - just didn't have any. Instead, we threw in a couple shakes of Mrs Dash Zesty - like a Cajun seasoning. I also just diced up one celery stick and picked off a long green onion from my window plant - so we probably used over a 1/4 cup for each. Both kids (ages 8, 6) LOVED it. They dipped in cold Ranch dressing. My girl said, "These salmon crock-ettes change my mood!" She still cant remember how to say "croquette" LOL Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KETHRAE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I used cracker crumbs instead of wheat germ and baked for 20 minutes at 450. Quick and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Quick Cured Salmon

See how to make a quick, simple brine for luxurious cured salmon.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States