Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MARNZ01
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Great recipe. I made it tastier and healthier as follows: skip the cheddar cheese all together, after the onion/celery, deglaze with a little white wine. Kick it up with some red pepper flakes. Must use fresh garlic and salmon. Don't pre-cook your salmon, there is no need. Add chunks in raw and then let it simmer, they cook very quickly and will also be much more tender in the finished soup. Also use fat free evaporated milk and thicken with corn starch. A splash of fresh green peas and Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
497 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Very quick, rich and comforting. But definitely use FRESH salmon and fresh garlic. I've also used 1/2 smoked, 1/2 fresh salmon and the smokiness gave it a wonderful flavor, similiar to a good clam chowder. However, the one big thing I would change about this recipe is to reduce the amount of cheddar to 1 or 1.5 cups, otherwise the original recipe ends up tasting too much like cheddar soup. 1 cup cheese is enough to salt and thicken it nicely. Also, if making for company, I would eliminate the carrots - adds to much chunkiness to a dish that should be creamy and smooth. Also, if just using fresh salmon, add a few teaspoons of liquid smoke for a nicer aroma-- makes all the difference. This soup has been part of our regular rotation and is very healthy and kid friendly. My 4 and 1 yr. gobbles it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
I really liked this recipe, but I did make a couple of changes. I used two 6-oz cans of boneless, skinless salmon, and it was plenty (I wonder if the "16-oz" can size is a mistake?). Also, I only used 1/4 lb. of cheddar instead of 1/2 lb., to help lower the fat content. It was very colorful and tasty. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AVERYBIRD
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Hello, I gave this recipe 5 stars after modifying it a bit. Thanks to all those posters before me for their advice! My husband now rates my version of this soup ("smoky salmon chowder") as his favorite soup we've tried thus far! The following changes make a "smoky" version of the original and requires liquid smoke. If you don't like that smoky flavor, you might not want to follow my advice. However, if you do like smoky flavor this is to die for! Use: 1 LB Fresh Salmon smoked on the barbecue; use 3-4 cloves of fresh garlic; omit the carrots; double the dill weed; use only 1 cup of real cheddar cheese; and finally, as the soup is finishing add TWO capfuls of Wright's Liquid Smoke into the soup. Serve with artisan bread and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Delicious! Will definitely become one of our regular rotations. I made a couple changes, but followed the recipe mostly. I used 3 single person size fillets of fresh salmon. Wrapped in foil and baked at 375 for 20 mins. I omitted the creamed corn (husband doesn't like it) and instead of Cheddar (I don't like the UK cheddar) used mozzarella. DELISH! Addtition: We tried this again without carrots and it was still great! IT FREEZES BEAUTIFULLY!! Can't even tell it was frozen. I defrosted on the counter for about 2hrs, then reheated in a saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
This is a great recipe. I used the small 6 oz. cans of Salmon and fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder, and subsituted fat free evaporated milk to cut some of the fat. I also used a cheddar-jack cheese blend instead of just cheddar, and used only half the 8-oz bag (I passed the rest around upon serving). What a delicious and easy soup!! YUM!! My husband loved it!! Definitely a keeper!! Thanks!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARA K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazard, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This was so good, that my '13-year-old-who's-so-picky-he-won't-eat-a-piece-of-chicken-because-a-mushroom-touched-it' liked it! And he hates salmon! WOW!!! What a winner. The rest of us loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This was an excellent recipe. I made it for a late night dinner when we had guests coming over, and it was perfect with some french bread on the side. People were asking for seconds! I would recommend leaving out the salt because the recipe is salty already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
This was easy and VERY GOOD!! I used onion powder and celery salt instead of the called for ingredients. I also added garlic powder, tarragon and some parsley for color. A great chowder base even if you don't use salmon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This was VERY good. I made it for a group and it was a hit. I used fresh salmon that I baked prior, and it was yummy! Will defintely make again. Was more of a corn chowder with salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Gomlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States