Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This was yummy! I made a few tweaks of my own: fresh garlic, used about 1 cup of parmesan cheese instead of cheddar cheese, instead of canned salmon used fresh/frozen salmon, used half the amount of creamed corn, added 1 cup of fresh/regular corn and thickened with corn starch. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is a great super easy chowder that tastes great. Perfect way to use up leftover baked salmon! Used fat free evaporated milk and skipped the cheese to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
5 stars! I made this recipe as-is, except that I used fresh salmon fillets and dill and omitted the cheese. My 3-year old had seconds! I was so amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
very tasty, probably could have left out the corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delicious! I was looking for a different way of cooking salmon to make it stretch further, and decided to try this recipe. It was really really good, and we're even going to make it for company. I used fresh garlic and salmon as suggested, and added the salmon at the end and simmered it for 5 minutes. Then, after the fish was cooked, I removed it from the heat and stirred in the cheese until it melted (I estimated and probably used about 2 cups, and it didn't taste too cheesy to me at all). I also thickened it with about 1-2 T flour. Since I used homemade chicken stock, I waited to add the salt, and probably used about 1/2 tsp or less. Definitely keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I grilled 2 lbs of salmon with a little salmon seasoning on top. (Chef Prudhomes) We ate about half of it and I used the left-overs for this chowder. So good. I mean I could eat it everyday! Only other difference is I used about a cup of frozen corn instead of the creamed corn. But that's only b/c it was what I had on hand. I'm sure it would be creamier with the creamed corn. My 7 year old daughter even raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Skip cheese, use frozen salmon, add red bell pepper, scallions, basil, and parsley. Could use a little heat next time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I followed recipe exactly. Took a LOT longer to make than stated. BOO! I Love Smoked Salmon and this was very smoked salmony we just didn't like it. It tastes exactly as described a smokey salmon chowder. It's not the recipe posters fault it's just our taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly (no changes or swaps). When it was done, all I could taste was canned salmon. Not just salmon -- but CANNED salmon (and I used a brand name -- Chicken of the Sea). I made it for some friends and I was SO embarrased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was really good.Made it according to the recipe but I added a little bit of cayenne pepper for depth. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vemfinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States