Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Delish!!!! My new favorite soup. (Admittedly I modified it to what was in the fridge. Left out the cheddar cheese and used 1/2 cup milk, 1/4 cup heavy cream, and 2 tablespoons more of butter and a regular can of corn instead of the creamed corn. I also used fresh Chum salmon since they are so plentiful this year. Turned out AMAZING!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Very Good!!! Used Fresh Salmon..did not have evaporated milk...used half milk and half and half, fresh garlic...would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
The base (?) is amazing. So creamy and delicious. I made the mistake of keeping the skin on because I didn't want to wast anything. Huge mistake. The salmon skin made the soup way to "fishy". I really like fish but keeping the skin on made the smell too strong. I feel like the broth would work very well with chicken and dumplings as well. Will make smaller portions next time so I don't get sick of it. Almost forgot, this soup doesn't keep well-you can't freeze it because there's milk in it and even kept in the fridge the milk begins to separate after 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I followed this to a t. Needs more corn, more seasoning to taste but absolutely delish either way. This is just my preference. I served 4 people they all loved it. I will make this again. I will get the salmon that already comes deboned and skinned. Pickng the bones out was a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vickiwht
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I prepared this dish for my family this evening and they liked it a lot. It is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was superb. I used celery salt instead of celery, doubled the potatoes and halved the salmon (used smoked). Also used regular corn (not creamed) and only a handful of cheese, just enough until it got creamy. Disappeared in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Wonderful! We left the cheese out per other reviews suggestions and it turned out great. Even my 2 yr old cleaned his bowl :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
changes- 3 carrots, 3 c potatoes, frozen corn, 2.5 c water, 1.5 c milk + powder milk, no salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was my first time making salmon chowder and I'm happy to say that it came out great! I used three 5 oz cans of pink boneless and skinless Chicken of the Sea salmon. I put in a little more than 2 cups of diced potatoes, I used 2 regular sized Russet potatoes and doubled the dill to 2-2.5 teaspoons. I used fat-free evaporated milk instead of regular evaporated milk and more than 3/4 cup of chopped onion, more like 1.5 cups. Instead of 1 teaspoon garlic powder, I used 4 fresh whole cloves of garlic that I sauteed with the onion and butter. I sauteed the onion, garlic and celery mixture in the butter for a little longer than suggested in the original recipe till the onions were a bit browned and caramelized since I wanted a little bit of a caramelized/smokey flavor to the soup. I omitted the salt & pepper since I used chicken flavored bullion which I combined with boiling water to make the chicken broth and the broth was salty enough to warrant omitting the salt. Instead of 1 teaspoon per 1 cup of boiling water for the chicken bullion, I added 1.5 teaspoons per 1 cup of boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Thank you for this recipe. We love chowder but since my husband can no longer have dairy and I can no longer have potatoes, we have had to forgo eating chowder. I was able to use mashed chick peas in place of the potatoes and coconut milk in place of the dairy and come up with a tasty chowder. I am grateful to those who post their recipes so I have a place to start when making my own. My husband was so happy to be able to eat a chowder, it was a huge hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 456) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States