Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Our entire family loves this recipe! I usually use frozen corn, and buy fresh salmon when on sale (I broil it, and freeze it in recipe size portions for later use).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Tremendous! When I started eating it I was like, eh, pretty good. By the time I was done, I was like, omgomgomg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I followed recipe EXCEPT: I used skim milk and then thickened the soup with cornstarch (didn't have evap on hand); added a splash of sherry; used 2 14.75 oz. cans of creamed corn instead of just one; used about 3/4 c. cheese; added liquid smoke, red pepper flakes and a bit of tobacco--all to taste; and I used a frozen salmon fillet that I added last and cooked about 5-7 minutes until salmon broke apart easily. Served with fresh French bread and a spinach salad. DEE-licious! My hubby isn't a fan of salmon but I have NO trouble getting him to eat this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This was yummy! I made a few tweaks of my own: fresh garlic, used about 1 cup of parmesan cheese instead of cheddar cheese, instead of canned salmon used fresh/frozen salmon, used half the amount of creamed corn, added 1 cup of fresh/regular corn and thickened with corn starch. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is a great super easy chowder that tastes great. Perfect way to use up leftover baked salmon! Used fat free evaporated milk and skipped the cheese to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
5 stars! I made this recipe as-is, except that I used fresh salmon fillets and dill and omitted the cheese. My 3-year old had seconds! I was so amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
very tasty, probably could have left out the corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delicious! I was looking for a different way of cooking salmon to make it stretch further, and decided to try this recipe. It was really really good, and we're even going to make it for company. I used fresh garlic and salmon as suggested, and added the salmon at the end and simmered it for 5 minutes. Then, after the fish was cooked, I removed it from the heat and stirred in the cheese until it melted (I estimated and probably used about 2 cups, and it didn't taste too cheesy to me at all). I also thickened it with about 1-2 T flour. Since I used homemade chicken stock, I waited to add the salt, and probably used about 1/2 tsp or less. Definitely keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I grilled 2 lbs of salmon with a little salmon seasoning on top. (Chef Prudhomes) We ate about half of it and I used the left-overs for this chowder. So good. I mean I could eat it everyday! Only other difference is I used about a cup of frozen corn instead of the creamed corn. But that's only b/c it was what I had on hand. I'm sure it would be creamier with the creamed corn. My 7 year old daughter even raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Skip cheese, use frozen salmon, add red bell pepper, scallions, basil, and parsley. Could use a little heat next time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States