Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Very Good!!! Used Fresh Salmon..did not have evaporated milk...used half milk and half and half, fresh garlic...would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
The base (?) is amazing. So creamy and delicious. I made the mistake of keeping the skin on because I didn't want to wast anything. Huge mistake. The salmon skin made the soup way to "fishy". I really like fish but keeping the skin on made the smell too strong. I feel like the broth would work very well with chicken and dumplings as well. Will make smaller portions next time so I don't get sick of it. Almost forgot, this soup doesn't keep well-you can't freeze it because there's milk in it and even kept in the fridge the milk begins to separate after 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I followed this to a t. Needs more corn, more seasoning to taste but absolutely delish either way. This is just my preference. I served 4 people they all loved it. I will make this again. I will get the salmon that already comes deboned and skinned. Pickng the bones out was a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vickiwht
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I prepared this dish for my family this evening and they liked it a lot. It is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was superb. I used celery salt instead of celery, doubled the potatoes and halved the salmon (used smoked). Also used regular corn (not creamed) and only a handful of cheese, just enough until it got creamy. Disappeared in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Wonderful! We left the cheese out per other reviews suggestions and it turned out great. Even my 2 yr old cleaned his bowl :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
changes- 3 carrots, 3 c potatoes, frozen corn, 2.5 c water, 1.5 c milk + powder milk, no salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was my first time making salmon chowder and I'm happy to say that it came out great! I used three 5 oz cans of pink boneless and skinless Chicken of the Sea salmon. I put in a little more than 2 cups of diced potatoes, I used 2 regular sized Russet potatoes and doubled the dill to 2-2.5 teaspoons. I used fat-free evaporated milk instead of regular evaporated milk and more than 3/4 cup of chopped onion, more like 1.5 cups. Instead of 1 teaspoon garlic powder, I used 4 fresh whole cloves of garlic that I sauteed with the onion and butter. I sauteed the onion, garlic and celery mixture in the butter for a little longer than suggested in the original recipe till the onions were a bit browned and caramelized since I wanted a little bit of a caramelized/smokey flavor to the soup. I omitted the salt & pepper since I used chicken flavored bullion which I combined with boiling water to make the chicken broth and the broth was salty enough to warrant omitting the salt. Instead of 1 teaspoon per 1 cup of boiling water for the chicken bullion, I added 1.5 teaspoons per 1 cup of boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Thank you for this recipe. We love chowder but since my husband can no longer have dairy and I can no longer have potatoes, we have had to forgo eating chowder. I was able to use mashed chick peas in place of the potatoes and coconut milk in place of the dairy and come up with a tasty chowder. I am grateful to those who post their recipes so I have a place to start when making my own. My husband was so happy to be able to eat a chowder, it was a huge hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Easy even when you don't use canned. My kids wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States