Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
DELISH! Made as is except I added hardly any cheese (none would taste good too) and used fresh salmon. Dip some french bread in the soup and drink a glass of wine, and you have perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDahlFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Yum! I've made this a few times and it's always a crowd pleaser. I make mine in the crock pot and use the packets of salmon rather than cans because my husband thinks canned salmon is "gross"...but I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Amazing soup with some tweaks. I cubed raw salmon (seasoned with Old Bay, dried dill and pepper)and added it with the potatoes. I added 4 cups of chicken broth. After the 20 minutes, I used a potato masher to break up some of the big chunks. I added a cup of frozen corn kernals, 1/2 cap of liquid smoke and 1.5 Tbs of Old Bay and 1/2 Tbs. black pepper. I used some corn starch to thicken. I left out the cheese. I served with oyster crackers. My kids loved it! One said "Wow, this has a little kick, but I like it." Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbaker2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great, simple recipe. But like many of the reviewers, my fiancé and I tweaked a few things. We used leftover Copper River Sockeye salmon which was grilled on the BBQ and a small cooked lobster tail. After sautéing the onions, we cooked everything in a crock pot for 1 hour. We don’t like celery, so that was excluded. Instead of creamed corn, we used corn that was grilled on the BBQ. Instead of cheddar, we used just a little bit of gouda – not sure if I could taste it though. Corn starch was added to thicken it up a little. All in all, the chowder tasted awesome. We ate it with some sourdough bread. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This is really good! I threw in some mozarella and provole cheese just because I had a bit left, and it still tasted increadible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars only because I can't give it more! This is DELICIOUS! I didn't make any changes from the original recipe; although I did use home canned salmon from a friend in AK. I'm sure I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Great recipe! But it must be with real salmon and garlic. We also made a few other adjustments, instead of chicken broth we used vegetable broth and next time will only use one cup for a thicker, hardier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
The recipe, as listed, is more like cheese soup with salmon in it. Leave out the cheese, and you actually have a lovely salmon chowder. We prefer this without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Very good, but I don't find canned salmon appealing with all the small bones (which the can says are edible). You can buy boneless canned but it is expensive. Next time I may buy frozen fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great recipe! I used left over salmon that I had BBQ on a cedar plank the night before, and it gave the soup a great smokey flavor. I left out the dill because I was not sure how it would mix with the smokey flavors from the wood, but I will include it next time. This is now one of my favorite soup recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States