Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I grilled 2 lbs of salmon with a little salmon seasoning on top. (Chef Prudhomes) We ate about half of it and I used the left-overs for this chowder. So good. I mean I could eat it everyday! Only other difference is I used about a cup of frozen corn instead of the creamed corn. But that's only b/c it was what I had on hand. I'm sure it would be creamier with the creamed corn. My 7 year old daughter even raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Skip cheese, use frozen salmon, add red bell pepper, scallions, basil, and parsley. Could use a little heat next time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I followed recipe exactly. Took a LOT longer to make than stated. BOO! I Love Smoked Salmon and this was very smoked salmony we just didn't like it. It tastes exactly as described a smokey salmon chowder. It's not the recipe posters fault it's just our taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly (no changes or swaps). When it was done, all I could taste was canned salmon. Not just salmon -- but CANNED salmon (and I used a brand name -- Chicken of the Sea). I made it for some friends and I was SO embarrased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was really good.Made it according to the recipe but I added a little bit of cayenne pepper for depth. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vemfinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Lovely favor. I made the following small changes: sweet potato for potato, no corn, and light coconut milk (Thai) for milk, More specifically for the ingredients used: Unsalted butter, white sweet onion, mixed pepper corns, a coarse mediterranean sea salt and I have used both a previously cooked Copper River Coco baked in dill and a smoked Coco salmon on another occasion. Served with a crusty French bread and a green salad it makes a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Yum! Made minor changes - more carrots and celery to get some more veg. Skim milk for the evaporated milk. Frozen salmon filets that I had baked ~ 1/2 way for the canned salmon. Didn't really measure the cheese, but suspect I used less. Froze in individual servings for work lunch to reheat in the microwave. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I don't eat seafood, so I can't comment on this personally, but I made it for my husband and he really liked it a lot (and isn't a big soup fan). I did, however, use fresh salmon (I got the stuff in a can and almost threw up when I opened it because it stunk so bad - and was full of tiny little bones.. and it was NOT the cheap stuff). I also didn't use onions because my husband loathes them, and used minced garlic instead of powdered.I also used a bit less cheese than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
delicious, my family and friends love it when I make this soup! =) easy and super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Globitoya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Fantastic! This recipe is nearly flawless and I make it often. Always use fresh salmon. I prefer a bit less dill. The carrots don't offend me as much as some others, but I love carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States