Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Wishbone
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was very good. I used less cheese than in the directions but also next time I will use less dill bc to me it was the strongest taste in the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Best salmon chowder ever! Like others I used fresh salmon, fresh garlic and a 4 cheese blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Added more Chicken broth. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was really good, but I'm picky about fish so we used smoked salmon instead of canned. We've made this 3 times with a combination of smoked, canned, and fresh and the best time we only had smoked salmon in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is the most delicious soup! I love this recipe and have made it sooooo many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
My family loves this. Made it again tonight. I used lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I used canned salmon and my husband and I both thought it was good. I only used one can, picked out the skin and large bones, and added half the liquid mixed with cornstarch to thicken the chowder. I needed cornstarch because I didn't use cheese. I'm sure it would be good but we just can't eat much cheese. I also didn't use any salt and added a bay leaf. Obviously this would be better with fresh instead of canned fish, but canned is more affordable and easy to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was very good. Changes I made were minor...used about a lb of fresh salmon instead of canned, fresh dill instead of dried, and half a can of creamed corn, half a can of regular (drained). Thanks so much for a chowder recipe that deviates from the heavy cream recipes (not that I don't love cream, just nice to have something a little healthier)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by plushflower
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made it but I used fresh salmon and I seasoned it with ms dash then I used a little extra broth and two cans of cream corn. I served it with king Hawaiian bread it was sooooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
After suffering a injury to my face and having to eat soft foods for awhile, I got SO SICK of cream of wheat and bland soup. I set out on a search for the perfect salmon stew, and boy howdy, this was the perfect base for it. I omitted the canned salmon, cheese and evaporated milk, and I used fresh salmon and fresh garlic. The only other thing I did differently was I deglazed with white wine (thank you, previous commenters!) after the vegetables were sautéed, and then I used heavy cream instead of evaporated milk. After the vegetables were very soft (probably softer than necessary, but a must for my poor broken bones) I added the raw salmon, a little liquid smoke, approximately two tablespoons of freshly grated Asiago cheese and a very small amount of roux for thickening. After maybe thirty or fort-five minutes at a soft simmer, this was absolute perfection to my taste buds. I cannot get enough of this goodness. Thank you so much to the original poster for sharing, and thank you to all of the commenters who shared their variation of this dish. It will forever be a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States