Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I prepared this dish for my family this evening and they liked it a lot. It is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was superb. I used celery salt instead of celery, doubled the potatoes and halved the salmon (used smoked). Also used regular corn (not creamed) and only a handful of cheese, just enough until it got creamy. Disappeared in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Wonderful! We left the cheese out per other reviews suggestions and it turned out great. Even my 2 yr old cleaned his bowl :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
changes- 3 carrots, 3 c potatoes, frozen corn, 2.5 c water, 1.5 c milk + powder milk, no salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was my first time making salmon chowder and I'm happy to say that it came out great! I used three 5 oz cans of pink boneless and skinless Chicken of the Sea salmon. I put in a little more than 2 cups of diced potatoes, I used 2 regular sized Russet potatoes and doubled the dill to 2-2.5 teaspoons. I used fat-free evaporated milk instead of regular evaporated milk and more than 3/4 cup of chopped onion, more like 1.5 cups. Instead of 1 teaspoon garlic powder, I used 4 fresh whole cloves of garlic that I sauteed with the onion and butter. I sauteed the onion, garlic and celery mixture in the butter for a little longer than suggested in the original recipe till the onions were a bit browned and caramelized since I wanted a little bit of a caramelized/smokey flavor to the soup. I omitted the salt & pepper since I used chicken flavored bullion which I combined with boiling water to make the chicken broth and the broth was salty enough to warrant omitting the salt. Instead of 1 teaspoon per 1 cup of boiling water for the chicken bullion, I added 1.5 teaspoons per 1 cup of boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Thank you for this recipe. We love chowder but since my husband can no longer have dairy and I can no longer have potatoes, we have had to forgo eating chowder. I was able to use mashed chick peas in place of the potatoes and coconut milk in place of the dairy and come up with a tasty chowder. I am grateful to those who post their recipes so I have a place to start when making my own. My husband was so happy to be able to eat a chowder, it was a huge hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Easy even when you don't use canned. My kids wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
One of the best recipes. My 10 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
yummm! it was pretty delicious! i added kale and used fresh smoked salmon. i can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezierk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This was fantastic. Instead of canned salmon I used 2 fresh salmon fillets, chopped and stirred in for the last few minutes of cooking. The small pieces of salmon cooked quickly in the hot soup. My husband was very skeptical during the whole process but now it is his most requested dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States