Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is the most delicious soup! I love this recipe and have made it sooooo many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
My family loves this. Made it again tonight. I used lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I used canned salmon and my husband and I both thought it was good. I only used one can, picked out the skin and large bones, and added half the liquid mixed with cornstarch to thicken the chowder. I needed cornstarch because I didn't use cheese. I'm sure it would be good but we just can't eat much cheese. I also didn't use any salt and added a bay leaf. Obviously this would be better with fresh instead of canned fish, but canned is more affordable and easy to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was very good. Changes I made were minor...used about a lb of fresh salmon instead of canned, fresh dill instead of dried, and half a can of creamed corn, half a can of regular (drained). Thanks so much for a chowder recipe that deviates from the heavy cream recipes (not that I don't love cream, just nice to have something a little healthier)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by plushflower
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made it but I used fresh salmon and I seasoned it with ms dash then I used a little extra broth and two cans of cream corn. I served it with king Hawaiian bread it was sooooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
After suffering a injury to my face and having to eat soft foods for awhile, I got SO SICK of cream of wheat and bland soup. I set out on a search for the perfect salmon stew, and boy howdy, this was the perfect base for it. I omitted the canned salmon, cheese and evaporated milk, and I used fresh salmon and fresh garlic. The only other thing I did differently was I deglazed with white wine (thank you, previous commenters!) after the vegetables were sautéed, and then I used heavy cream instead of evaporated milk. After the vegetables were very soft (probably softer than necessary, but a must for my poor broken bones) I added the raw salmon, a little liquid smoke, approximately two tablespoons of freshly grated Asiago cheese and a very small amount of roux for thickening. After maybe thirty or fort-five minutes at a soft simmer, this was absolute perfection to my taste buds. I cannot get enough of this goodness. Thank you so much to the original poster for sharing, and thank you to all of the commenters who shared their variation of this dish. It will forever be a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Excellent chowder. Used fresh salmon that I poached in the microwave first (easy way to do fish) and used minced garlic instead of powder. Will definitely try again and will try adding some sun-dried tomatoes next time as suggested for colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Our family really enjoys this chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This is my second time with this recipe. I used fresh salmon instead of canned and its wonderful. I have only just taken up cooking for fun and am eager to try new recipes. My wife and I had a Salmon Chowder at Hell's Gate on the Fraser River in Canada about 35 years ago. We never thought anything would recreate that wonderful soup. But this does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
So delicious and easy! I followed the recipe exactly, including using two large cans of salmon. My suggestion is to empty the cans of salmon in a bowl and pick out the large spine bones. The small bones cook nicely so that you don't notice them and provide extra protein. I won't be making this frequently, because it's not exactly healthy, but I will make it occasionally when we're craving some comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States