Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Amazing! Try it out, change a few things. You will not be disappointed. I cook it for my family once a month. I add green pepper and use frozen wild salmon I stocked away for the winter. I do not add the cheese. People that don't really like salmon will eat some and have seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
The best salmon chowder. Make it per recipe. Best on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cope, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I agree with everyone else on here. Use fresh salmon! This was my first time using canned and I will never do it again! Picking through it was so gross! The finished product was tasty though. Used fresh garlic, added some liquid smoke, otherwise followed the recipe. Can't wait to make it again with fresh salmon and I think I'll cook the onions, celery and garlic in bacon like others have suggested. Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
We all gobbled this easy recipe right up. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Loved it! Even my two very picky eaters ate some which can be a miracle in itself. My wife thought that it was very good and she does not like fish! The only changes I made were that I cut the butter and cheese in half to cut the calories a bit and used fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Using some changes recommended by others, I have made this at least a half of a dozen times. Thank you for sharing. Some of the changes I have read seems so far removed from your recipe it is a wonder they don't submit their own. Thanks again for your submission, I am heading to the store to make it again tonight, it freezes very well. I use fresh salmon and 1% milk, no cheese, no salt and low sodium ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Conner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I did everything it said, I thought the recipe read 2 cups of cheese not a 1/2 lb. I still love it. I also completed one of my cups of broth with 1/4 cup dry white wine. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This was delicious. Like previous reviewers I would recommend using fresh garlic and fresh salmon. Leave out the cheese, the soup is plenty creamy without it, and leave out the carrots, and use double the dill weed. Very tasty and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Gonzalez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This recipe was outstanding. My husband has insisted that this be added to my recipes in frequent rotation. He said it was one of the best soups he's ever eaten, and he also called it "perfect hangover food"! I omitted the celery because I had none on hand, used a mix of cheddar and mozzarella cheese because I ran out of cheddar, and adderd tarragon as per another reviewer's suggestion. It is wonderful with crushed red pepper flakes added in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Made this tonight and LOVED it! Instead of salmon I used chopped clams (3 small cans). Great cold weather meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States