Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I did everything it said, I thought the recipe read 2 cups of cheese not a 1/2 lb. I still love it. I also completed one of my cups of broth with 1/4 cup dry white wine. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This was delicious. Like previous reviewers I would recommend using fresh garlic and fresh salmon. Leave out the cheese, the soup is plenty creamy without it, and leave out the carrots, and use double the dill weed. Very tasty and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Gonzalez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This recipe was outstanding. My husband has insisted that this be added to my recipes in frequent rotation. He said it was one of the best soups he's ever eaten, and he also called it "perfect hangover food"! I omitted the celery because I had none on hand, used a mix of cheddar and mozzarella cheese because I ran out of cheddar, and adderd tarragon as per another reviewer's suggestion. It is wonderful with crushed red pepper flakes added in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Made this tonight and LOVED it! Instead of salmon I used chopped clams (3 small cans). Great cold weather meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Made this with leftover salmon, used fresh garlic and added liquid smoke . Omitted the cheese (added a little corn starch to thicken before serving). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I really liked the consistency of the soup. It's not too thin, not too thick. And the spices are perfect for the salmon. I think next time I make it I will use fresh salmon, this time I used salmon from a packet. I'll definitely. Be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! I used 3 fresh salmon filets, no pre-cooking, I just chunked it up and put it in raw. It cooked up perfectly. I used low fat evaporated milk and I actually used 8oz of Daiya non-dairy cheddar cheese! Didn't realize until I was home, but it was perfect. Not too cheesy at all. Only half a can of corn. Oh yes, the best thing is that I added a little of MY wine! I saw several reviewers mention the white whine. I make whites and meads... I used maybe an 1/8th cup of mead. Really perfect. So I made a lot of little changes, but followed the basic recipe pretty closely. It was wonderful! My man is taking it to work for lunch tomorrow. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Definitely will be making this again. I used fresh garlic, fresh salmon filet (broiled in the oven the day before with olive oil, sea salt n garlic). Also omited the carrots as others suggested and no corn. I used two 14 oz cans of broth, used sea salt and a couple dashes of creole seasoning, added extra celery,and stirred in a capful of liquid smoke at the end. It was so good. I served with sourdough bread and sprinkled red pepper flakes in my bowl for an extra kick. I was full after one bowl so had to use willpower not to back for more. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Awesome recipe! Made it for a Packer game and was loved by all! I made a triple batch but cut way back on the cheese because my husband and daughter are lactose sensitive. Used pepper jack to add a little heat and a little cheddar. I had uncooked frozen salmon that I added and fresh corn that I cut off the cob. Will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Mary E Maldonado
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Yes it turn out so good! I add some of my touches, like bacon, baby sea scallops and potatoes. And made a box of Red Lobster Ceddar Bay Biscuit mix to go with the chowder. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary E Maldonado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States