Salmon Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Great recipe! Thank you:) As stated in previous review the salt is out of proportion. I used the reviewers recommend 1/8 -1/4 tsp sea salt and Old El Paso Guacamole Mix for more kick and found it to be absolutley divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was so delicious! I have to agree with the other commenter - I think it was too much salt. I understand that ceviche has to be salty to keep bacteria from growing, but this was pucker-your-mouth salty. Maybe just use 1 1/2 tbsp. instead of 2 1/2? That being said, this was a fantastic ceviche, very tasty. The fish "cooked" up just fine, and it was so easy to make. We used tilapia since it was cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Love it, but way too much salt. Is it a typo? Found I could use almost defrosted wild salmon so have ready in freezer all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CreativeCook
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made the recipe exactly EXCEPT used only 1/2 teaspoon salt, doubled the chili paste to 1 teaspoon and halved the olive oil (2 Tablespoons). It was perfect over spring mix salad greens and makes four one-cup servings. Definitely a keeper with great flavor. Hopefully everyone knows not to put as much salt as the recipe calls for or that will ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I've got a hunch that the first 2 ingredients got swapped, and should instead be 1/4 tsp salt and 2 1/2 tbsp sugar. I did it this way, and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
The hardest part of this recipe is the four hours you have to wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I only give this 4 stars because I don't think salmon is a good choice of fish to use in ceviche. It was just a bit heavy and meaty for my taste. I have used a very similar recipe with tilapia and pollock resulting in a more delicate dish. This recipe is very good and I wouldn't hesitate to use a lighter fish with it. Unlike others, I found the salt content perfectly acceptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PandaCurry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Belview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
i was so disappointed with this recipe.. i reduced the salt like other viewers suggested.. i think the only thing i left out was the cilantro b/c i didn't have any.. so if that was the deal breaker then that's my fault
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Fantastic! Thanks to the great reviewers before me, I switched the amounts for sugar and salt, and it was supremely delicious. Fresh, bright flavor and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Very yummy recipe. Light meal, healthy and very tasty. We changed some of the ingredients but it still came out very yummy, coming from someone who is not a big fish fan either. And super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States