Salmon Cakes by Melt® Buttery Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I thought these had a good flavor. The salmon flavor is very prominent, instead of the fillers. I only had 2 issues. One they were extremely salty. I used leftover salmon from a recipe that had soy sauce in the marinade. I probably should have reduced the salt. I used panko bread crumbs and am not sure how plain bread crumbs would have changed the recipe. After refridgerating over night, I still had to be very careful they did not break. I made a 1/2 recipe and got 6 patties from 2 standard pieces of salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I used leftover grilled salmon so there was no need to boil it. I used buttery saltines instead of breadcrumbs and real butter. I served them with tartar and remoulade sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I've never made salmon patties before because the thought of using canned salmon is a bit gross to me. I was happy to come upon this recipe and it was very tasty; a tad bit too salty so next time I won't add as much as the recipe calls for. I used panko bread crumbs and melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Even my wife loved it despite the fact that she's not a big fan of fish in general. I followed the recipe except I used panko bread crumbs and a few tablespoons of home made sofrito to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zylgis Zaldapheus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Yoursunshine82
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
These were so DELICIOUS! Used leftover salmon so I didn't use the white wine. Only other change was I added Worcestershire sauce! I will definitely make this again my Husband loved it & he's not much of a fish eater! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoursunshine82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made these for dinner last night and they were great. I substituted butter for the Melt stuff (I don't think they sell it here) but stuck to the recipe otherwise. My wife does not like fish but she liked these. Her friend who ate a couple of them raved about them. I'll be doing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
OMG - these were STUPENDOUS! I modified the recipe a bit (out of convenience): didn't have Old Bay spice so I used cajun seasoning instead; I subbed red onions for the scallions and yellow onions and, I added chopped red peppers. I melted butter then forgot to add it but, didn't miss it at all! And I didn't have time to let them rest/refigerate but it didn't seem to affect the flavor. I will definitely make these again - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
My husband's comment when tasting"these are nice you should make these again" really about sums up my opinion too. Easy to make although I used sage and onion stuffing mix instead of the bread crumbs. I will make these again, nice with a salad for a light summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is a very good basic recipe. I used some leftover baked salmon, mayonnaise instead of the buttery spread and panko instead of bread crumbs, but followed the rest of the recipe. My husband and I both thought it was very good and he ask that I make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAUTICOLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I did not use the wine in the poaching process, but I did add Dijon Mustard to the mixture before frying. I also used a mixture of panko and bread crumbs, I forgot that panko browns faster. I would not suggest using Panko. Very good recipe!!!! I made home remoulade sauce mentioned in Salmon Croquttes video. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akesha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States