Salmon Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
I used alterations from three previous reviews, I substituted 10 ritz crackers for the bread. And used parmesan cheese instead of the flour. My husband is on a low-carb diet and this was perfect for him. I did add one more egg too as a binder. The sauce I made to go with it was 1 tablespoon dijon mustard mixed with 2 tablespoons of mayo. This is a great dipping sauce for chicken cordon bleu as well. He loved it and so did I and I'm not a fish lover. Wow! will definitely make this one again. Also baked it as one of the reviews suggested too! 375 for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
These are SO delicious!! I dusted the patties with parmesan instead of flour- it made them really crispy outside, tender inside. A new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Delicious! :) This is fine resteraunt quality! I buy 2 large cans of salmon you have to pick the bones/skin out of.. because it is much tastier than the only meat cans. Reserve a bit of juice incase your pattys are too dry. I would add a few tablespoons of the salmon juice and extra bread crumbs if it needs more. This gave me about 8 salmon cakes. Also added one extra egg. The rest of the recipe I followed exactly. My kids LOVED these and I'm going to choose this recipe over an old favorite recipe from now on. I think the chopped onion is great in it. (was a bit curious how that would turn out) I wouldnt use the onion powder over it personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
Very good salmon!! I baked mine instead of frying --much healthier!! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I served this recipe for the first time at a family party. Everyone loved it, even people who don't usually eat salmon. My only change to the recipe was I baked the salmon cakes at 375 for 20 minutes on each side. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Absolutely delicious. I used 12 oz leftover grilled sockeye salmon instead of canned and doubled the amount of hot pepper sauce as we like things a little more flavorful (it definitely was not spicy). I only used half the recommended amount of butter and olive oil, and that was still more than enough. I served the salmon cakes with a dollop of sour cream horseradish on the side (1T prepared horseradish stirred into 3/8 cup lite sour cream) and it was fantastic. This is what I'm doing with leftover salmon from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Excellent. Baked them at 375 for 20 mins and then browned them in a pan. Used fresh leftover smoked salmon and used 2 eggs instead of one. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I loved the flavor that the cheddar and the Worcestershire gave them. I also added some garlic and lemon pepper to the mix. I did fry them in the butter and EVOO. But next time I will givve baking them a try....Thanks Jeanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
This was definitely a good base for salmon patties. I like the idea of using cheddar and worchestershire sauce. But the cakes definitely needed something more. I added lemon pepper and minced garlic, but they were still lacking a little bit. I'll definitely try them again though. Also, instead of frying, I covered them in cornmeal and baked for 20 minutes to cut down on all that fat. They had a nice crunchy coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This was good. I added a little more hot sauce and some garlic. I was out of flour (I know, pretty weird, I had no idea), so I used Ritz Crackers for the coating. I also added about two teaspoons of mayo cause it wasn't sticking together very well. It turned out great. I do agree w/the reviewer who said it needs a sauce. I dipped mine in lemon juice, but a nice mild white sauce would have been great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States