Salmon Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I used panko crumbs and the remains of butchering a fresh, wild caught 5 lb. salmon...otherwise I followed this exactly. Best fish cakes I've ever made. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
These were good. I didn't care for the flavor of cheddar cheese with fish AT ALL. If I were to make these again, I'd make them without the cheddar cheese, and add some Old Bay seasoning and/or lemon juice at the very least. And definitely eliminate the butter and fry them in a little vegetable or canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I made exactly as stated, except didn't use all the butter and they were really yummy. My hunny had seconds. Might try the baking method next time but with the reduced butter they weren't too greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I used leftover sockeye salmon. Added an extra egg, Old Bay, chopped red pepper and a little mayo. I also replaced the bread crumbs with cracker crumbs and the flour with panko bread crumbs. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! My picky child loved it! I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs, added two eggs, & mayo to get it to hold together. I used more of the Italian seasoned bread crumbs to coat the outside of the patty. For a sauce, I mixed 2tablespoons of mayo, 1 tablespoon of sour cream, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp Mrs. Dash table blend, 1 tsp of dill seasoning, & dill pickle juice to taste. The two combined made even my picky child go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This recipe is great! But I couldn't resist altering mine, plus, I wanted to make more than just four cakes. I added more hot sauce (we like it spicy), and replaced parsley with dill. Also, added lemon zest from a whole lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe! I just made it for the first time tonight and we LOVED it! I had a leftover piece of salmon fillet, about 14 oz I figure. Per other reviews I used 2 eggs, I replaced the cheddar cheese with mozzerella and I added 2 tsp of Old Bay seasoning. It says it makes 4 patties but I got 9 of them. Maybe mine were smaller than they planned. I used about 1/2 cp of the mixture to make each patty. I also baked them for 20 min and then fried them like many others suggested but next time I'm just going to bake them and turn them once during because they were quite crunchy just from the baking. Another reviewer suggested a delicious and easy sauce that I made to go with it. 1/2 cp mayo, 1/2 tsp minced garlic, 1 tsp lemon juice and a pinch of paprika. It's so good I'll be using it for other things too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMATECHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made these last night. I thought they were good but the raw onions in the mix was too much for me. I did mince the small onion. Next time I'll either do half the onion or saute them just a bit before putting in mix. Then I would say, this was a great recipe. I also made a great little sauce to go with them. Mayo, Dijon mustard, dill, lemon juice and a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Awesome! The only thing I changed (per some of the other reviews) was use parm. cheese instead of flour. These are great and will definitely be served again. Kid friendly as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Made this exactly as written (okay maybe with a few extra dashes of hot pepper sauce) and served with a reviewer's dip of 1 part dijon mustard, 2 parts mayo. Dee-licious. I'm no salmon cake expert as I've only had them once before and that was years ago, but these on their own with no comparisons were yummy and deeply satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States