Salmon Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Four starts only because I tweaked it a bit. I substituted the cheddar for parmesan. I'm just not a fan of cheddar and didn't want to run to the store. I also added some tiny shrimp to it (maybe a cup? I'm terrible at measuring) and an extra egg. Everyone loved them and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I loved this recipe. I usually steer away from seafood but this reipe was delcious!!! I follwed the advice of previous comments, replaced flour with parmesan and made the Dijon/Mayo dipping sauce. My own twist I used italian breadcrumbs and eliminated parsley ( I didn't have any on hand), I also added about 3/4 of a tblsp of fresh garlic and made made 8 smaller cakes (in order to have a bit more crunch per cake). Next time I will serve this as an appetizer with a drop of sauce on top and parsley leaf on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I used Panko bread crumbs, just a dash of cayenne pepper in place of hot sauce and half the butter and two more TBS of olive oil, medium heat 5 minutes both sides and perfect! I made 8 cakes and my husband ate 4 in one setting! Served with mashed potatoes and garden canned corn which equaled out to the perfect southern home cooked meal!! Will definitely make again and my southern cooking mother will now too! Been making salmon cakes for years and this was the perfect variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I use a few heaping tablespoons of cornmeal fish fry --like Louisiana brand--instead of cracker crumbs. Tastes better and holds together better. Better for frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
These were excellent! I didn't chill them as long as directed, but they held together well. Next time I am going to try baking them instead. I also served them with the sauce recommended by another reviewer: 2 TBSP mayo & 1TBSP Dijon mustard. Very yummy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this just as written. The outside was crispy and did hold together. That is the only good thing I can say. The inside was mushy and spongy and the only flavor was of onion. I am cranky that I didn't notice how 99% of the reviews changed the recipe significantly. I would not make this as written again, and don't want to try to mess with it to make it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I am currently eating a gluten free diet. I substituted gluten free breadcrumbs and used coconut flour instead of white flour. These were great. Helped me to use up leftover salmon and made a great meal! For a quick sauce I used a little chipotle ranch dressing diluted with coconut milk and warmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
We really, really liked this. Based on other reviews, I used a combo of flour and Parmesan cheese as the coating and I baked at 375 for 12 mins then broiled for a couple minutes on each side to brown them up. made a really quick sauce using mayo, horse radish, Dijon mustard and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My husband loved these and said they had a lot of flavor. I substituted onion powder for the onion, crushed Club Crackers for the bread crumbs, and grated Parmesan cheese for the flour for a little extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
My daughter loved these. We put honey mustard dipping sauce from this site over the top after serving. Will make again! Next time, I will try making with oats and oat flour to make gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States