Salmon Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
It was good! I don't measure anything, but I added an extra egg and used more cheese than it called for. I also substituted Ritz crackers for bread crumbs, which I do for meatloaf too. I used less butter in the skillet also. Overall, very good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Delicious! I subsituted breadcrumbs and flour with grated parm. cheese to keep it low carb. I can't wait to serve these either as an appetizer or main for entertaining. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This was my first time ever trying to make salmon cakes and it definitely wont be the last. I would have given 5 stars but i made a couple of changes to the recipe. Instead of using regular bread crumbs, I used seasoned panko breadcrumbs in both the filling and instead of the flour. I also didn't use any hot sauce or worcestershire sauce. Instead i diced up a couple of pepperoncini and added those as well as a bit of the water they come in, and a little bit of crushed oregano and fresh lemon and about a 1/4 tsp of minced garlic and used only half of an onion since I'm not a big fan. After reading other reviews i agreed that they needed a little bit of sauce or something to at least dip them in, so i mixed a little bit of mayo with hot sauce and lemon. The end result in my opinion was a great success, I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These were great, no leftovers. I served them with garlic aioli. Next time I will try with grilled salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Yes, this was excellent! Even my seven year old loved them. I used leftover salmon from the grill instead of canned and it worked just fine. Also I used only about a tablespoon of butter and olive oil as needed when doing them in the pan to cut down on fat and calories. will definitely add this to my repertoire!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
These salmon cakes are AMAZING!!!! WOW. I just posted this recipe on my Facebook for many others to try. I did substitute a lot of things in this recipe, only because I didn't have them on hand. I used fresh salmon rather than canned. I didn't have an egg on me so I drizzled some olive oil into the mixture to hold the cakes together, which worked out really well. Next time, I'll try baking it, since some of other people recommended it. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiCACA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Great as a next day side dish as well. Must admit and as previously mentioned more Worcestershire sauce is needed and use parmesan instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
These were pretty good. I served them with dijon tartar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I tried this recipe and it was the best I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Great recipe! I followed almost exactly except used fresh salmon (pre-cooked on the stove top) and red pepper flakes in place of the hot pepper sauce. I do agree with some reviewers that this needed a sauce for dipping, but was still good as is. It is a little tough to keep together, but if you gently use a spatula, you can keep these intact. I made these with garlic smashed red potatoes and steamed broccoli for my husband's birthday. His only complaint was that it wasn't spicy enough, but he is a hot head and I thought they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniwithani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States