Salmon Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Amazing! Thank you for sharing this recipe! My modifications: 2 Eggs I like heat - so I added 1 tsp sriracha 1/2 jalapeno Used parm cheese to coat the outside of parm Didn't use the Olive Oil Loved this... can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Made as written. Loved it. Will add a little cayenne and a little more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I wasn't really sure how to rate these. These were delicious. Although they fell apart a bit on me, they tasted awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Oh My Gooooooooodness!!! I'm stuffing my face with this as I type! Alterations: 1/2 teaspoon of Old Bay seasoning, 4 cheese Mexican blend, dusted in parmesan instead of flour, used dried parsley (none fresh on hand), and since I don't like onions raw, I sautéed a small onion with two mini bell peppers (yellow & orange), and a tablespoon of minced garlic. I added that mixture to the salmon and other ingredients and mixed away. I added more butter to the pan as it began drying out during cooking. I made cheese grits and sautéed some baby spinach and kale mix in a little butter just to wilt it. I placed the grits on the plate first, then piled the spinach/kale mix, then the salmon cake on top...scrambled eggs right next to it. YUMMY!!! There was a party going on in my mouth!!! This will be a staple brunch dish in my home. I wish I had a photo to share but I cut into it the moment it got on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bestlove0628

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Four starts only because I tweaked it a bit. I substituted the cheddar for parmesan. I'm just not a fan of cheddar and didn't want to run to the store. I also added some tiny shrimp to it (maybe a cup? I'm terrible at measuring) and an extra egg. Everyone loved them and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I loved this recipe. I usually steer away from seafood but this reipe was delcious!!! I follwed the advice of previous comments, replaced flour with parmesan and made the Dijon/Mayo dipping sauce. My own twist I used italian breadcrumbs and eliminated parsley ( I didn't have any on hand), I also added about 3/4 of a tblsp of fresh garlic and made made 8 smaller cakes (in order to have a bit more crunch per cake). Next time I will serve this as an appetizer with a drop of sauce on top and parsley leaf on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I used Panko bread crumbs, just a dash of cayenne pepper in place of hot sauce and half the butter and two more TBS of olive oil, medium heat 5 minutes both sides and perfect! I made 8 cakes and my husband ate 4 in one setting! Served with mashed potatoes and garden canned corn which equaled out to the perfect southern home cooked meal!! Will definitely make again and my southern cooking mother will now too! Been making salmon cakes for years and this was the perfect variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I use a few heaping tablespoons of cornmeal fish fry --like Louisiana brand--instead of cracker crumbs. Tastes better and holds together better. Better for frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
These were excellent! I didn't chill them as long as directed, but they held together well. Next time I am going to try baking them instead. I also served them with the sauce recommended by another reviewer: 2 TBSP mayo & 1TBSP Dijon mustard. Very yummy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this just as written. The outside was crispy and did hold together. That is the only good thing I can say. The inside was mushy and spongy and the only flavor was of onion. I am cranky that I didn't notice how 99% of the reviews changed the recipe significantly. I would not make this as written again, and don't want to try to mess with it to make it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States