Salmon Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Yum yum! I do recommend adding seasoning to your liking. One thing I think most people are missing is that the recipe calls for a very large can of salmon (14.75 oz). The usual size is only 5 oz. If you use the large size can then 5 potatoes is probably fine. I used 2 potatoes and 2 5 oz. cans of salmon. That ratio was pretty good. I added parsley, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and cayenne. I also added about 1 T milk to help the potatoes stick together, and I used crushed gold fish crackers on the outside instead of flour. I only used 3-4 T oil to fry them. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Excellent! The potatoes make the patties creamy. Because of the reviews, I only put in one potato so I could still taste the salmon. I also added a chopped onion for flavor. Make sure you chop it really fine so it doesn't interrupt the creamy texture. Also, you don't need that much oil. I just put in enough to coat the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I am not a fan of salmon cakes, but with the addition of potatoes I tried it. I did change the original recipe a bit. I used less potatoes and added Old Bay seafood seasoning to the mixture. I chilled the mixture making it easier to form. I coated the patties in a mixture of flour, corn meal and Old Bay. The whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Last minute meal and my kids and husband liked it! They are tough critics with salmon, so the fact they liked it is amazing! I took the suggestion of only using three potatos, and it tasted good. I addd garlic powder, salt, parsley flakes, and onion. I also didn't use flour because I need to cook gluten free, and they held together fine. A good, fast easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were so good! If your patties fall apart, I suggest adding an extra egg or two (I doubled the recipe anyway) and instead of making patties, make balls, roll the balls in flour and flatten with a spatula when you place them in the grease. The ones I did that to were perfect! Hubby and kids made sure there were no leftovers. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Taylor-Giegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This recipee was very good. I don't like a strong salmon flavor in patties and the potatoes really helped remedy this. I added a little Italian bread crumbs for more flavor and that tasted exellent. I made fairly large patties and I ended up with 14 patties just from one can of salmon. This is definitely a recipee I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I LOVE this recipe! Something a little different with salmon. This is a mild recipe even the kids will love, there is plenty of room to add whatever type of seasoning you prefer, more salt and pepper, dill, garlic, hot peppers, or as is. It's sticky once mixed, but after dipping in the flour and frying, it becomes a light crispy dish with tender creamy inside, suitable for eating alone as a patty, or on toast or a bun. Extremely versatile and flavorful for the baby or Dad! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I think 3 potatoes is plenty and I also like to add finely chopped green onion for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvington, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
With memories of my Mom's Salmon cakes. I tried this recipe. It was fantastic and easy. I added 1 minced onion and a dash of Texas Pete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Photo by cdelemos
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I'm a beginner chef, and this dish was easy to make, very tasty, and even looks (and sounds) a bit fancy! Perfect to make for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdelemos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States