Salmon Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
Very good, my family enjoyed these a lot. I just added some garlic powder for an added "kick".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
way too much potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This was actually quite good. But I did tweak it a little. Gotta have onions in a salmon cake! I added a small, finely chopped onion and some parsley, and coated the cakes in cornmeal instead of flour to give it some texture. Yum. Not bland, but a slightly 'muted' salmon flavor. Great w/homemade tarter sauce. I confess I had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This recipe is not all that good. My Salmon Cakes turned into Salmon Mashed Potatoes. They were still good, but not what I thought they would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Excellent! The potatoes make the patties creamy. Because of the reviews, I only put in one potato so I could still taste the salmon. I also added a chopped onion for flavor. Make sure you chop it really fine so it doesn't interrupt the creamy texture. Also, you don't need that much oil. I just put in enough to coat the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
I found this recipe to be very good. I live in an area where pacific salmon is very prevelant and I needed a recipe that would use up the leftovers from my catch of salmon. This was great. My family and I are not the greatest salmon fanciers and enjoyed how this recipe did not have an overpowering taste of salmon. If you like but dont love salmon this is a good recipe, mind you when frying the patties, they absorb a tremedous amount of oil. Make sure you pan is hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I tried a variation of this recipe using only one large potato and some matzo meal. Even with that variation, the cakes had too much potato flavor. I find it hard to believe that you're supposed to mix five potatoes to one average-sized can of salmon. Why even bother to add the salmon at all in this recipe? It's simply a waste --- you CAN'T TASTE THE SALMON!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
The patties tasted good, but they would have been even better with less potatoes. It tasted like a potato pattie instead of fish pattie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
The fish cakes did taste nice, but the preparation was a bit of a nightmare. Frying them took ages and also caused some of them to burn, it may take practice, but its not the easiest recipe in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
Overall very tasty! But 5 large potatoes is too much. We could barely taste the salmon b/c the potatoe over-powered the overall taste. I would use only 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KICKCHICK99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States