Salmon Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Last minute meal and my kids and husband liked it! They are tough critics with salmon, so the fact they liked it is amazing! I took the suggestion of only using three potatos, and it tasted good. I addd garlic powder, salt, parsley flakes, and onion. I also didn't use flour because I need to cook gluten free, and they held together fine. A good, fast easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cdelemos
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I'm a beginner chef, and this dish was easy to make, very tasty, and even looks (and sounds) a bit fancy! Perfect to make for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdelemos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These were yummy!! :) I had a bunch of potatoes that needed to be used and cans of salmon, so this was PERFECT. A nice change from regular salmon patties too... I did use green onions and only three potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I added a little old bay seasoning and used fresh cooked salmon. I also used leftover mashed potatoes instead of cooking them fresh here. A good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Wonderful - add a little more seasoning for flavor, like onion salt and garlic, but otherwise, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Not impressed. Rather flavorless. Only my 1 year old liked them. No one will eat the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLEYMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
With memories of my Mom's Salmon cakes. I tried this recipe. It was fantastic and easy. I added 1 minced onion and a dash of Texas Pete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I think 3 potatoes is plenty and I also like to add finely chopped green onion for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvington, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Before this recipe I was never able to successfully make Salmon Cakes to have with my Grits.......Well this one is Ymmmm! Very easy to make but I added a half cup of breadcrumbs and used 3 medium potato's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
It was late one evening, well past dinnertime, when I realized I was hungry and had nothing in the cupboards except a 2 year old can of salmon that had somehow survived moves into two different apartments. I made this recipe, which was super easy, but definitely did not use 5 potatoes, as all I had was one. I added some breadcrumbs because it wasn't "caking" well, too wet. A little diced onion, dry dill, and a touch of minced garlic. The dish was OK. I ended up busting out some cocktail sauce I had in the fridge and it seemed to save the day. Tartar sauce would be more fitting. Overall, it beats a can of spaghetti-o's for a last minute meal, but definitely not something to mess your pants about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States