Salmon Bisque for Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I used canned salmon for this recipe and it turned out great! I can only imagine how good it would be by the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I recently returned from upstate NY with 25 wild, chinhook salmon, so my fish was white and not pink and had a lot less fat than the farm-raised chum salmon that's usually available. Accordingly, I made a few alterations, but overall loved the recipe. I also crisped a few slices of bacon and threw them into the food processor instead of adding salt. I used skim milk and fish stock with sherry to finish in lieu of cream, chicken bouillon and white wine. Overall, the bisque absolutely kicked butt and everyone was mopping their bowls with bread (I may have even seen one of the women actually licking hers...) Everyone has their own tastes, so I imagine that people will prefer their own variations and modifications, but this was a great base for a new "go-to" salmon recipe for my repertoire. Thanks for a great recipe! Gonzo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuna Tuesday

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I was SO disappointment with this bisque - not the flavor so much as the texture! It was almost grainy in texture. I followed the recipe and pureed it thoroughly but, my husband and I both disliked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe. I did a few substitutions, as I used 2% milk instead of cream - which brought down the calories. Instead of paprika, is gave the soup a good helping of chili powder - about a full tablespoon. Even with a basic pre-packaged salmon from the grocery store, it was fantastic. Definitely a recipe to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was delicious! Like a previous reviewer I used chicken broth instead of whiten wine and chicken bouillon. I also did not puree the mixture, although I think this would have been delicious. It turned more into a salmon chowder but was very flavorful and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Very good! I used homemade chicken broth in place of the bouillon and the white wine, and added garlic to the roux. Instead of puree-ing, I left everything intact and served as is. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This recipe just needs more half-&-half, about a cup more, and then it tastes terrific. I'd add a little bit more right before blending, and then the rest when it goes back on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States