Salmon Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
I make a similar version of this recipe that everyone swoons over: I add a teaspoon or two of "liquid smoke." Adds a great smoky flavor and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
This is a LONG time family favorite, except we double the onion and add 1/2 tsp liquid smoke. Spread on Ritz.. everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Very good. Disappeared fast at the party. It was easy, looked nice and tasted great. The deep pink of the ball contrasted nicely with the fresh parsley. I used red salmon and added white pepper to the ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDNIGHTMUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lingle, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe, we also add liquid smoke, and we roll ours in real bacon bits......yummy!! A holiday favorite amongst My Grandma, My Momma ,and now myself!! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Everyone liked this. In place of the salt I used about 1/2 teaspoon of garlic salt, about 2 tablespoons of green onion, and a little liquid smoke as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
The BIGGEST hit at a Thanksgiving pot-luck at work, then Thanksgiving dinner, then Post-Thanksgiving dinner, then another party later on (you get the idea!). I noticed a lot of people mentioned smoked salmon. For someone who doesn't have the money for a handled smoker, and canned smoked salmon isn't available in the regular grocery stores and is way too expensive in the fancier, Bumblebee's Atlantic Salmon is a pretty flavorful alternative. The leftover (if there is any) hold up very well in the fridge overnight for a second helping the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I can remember my grandmother and mother always making a salmon ball (served with wheat thins) at any party we had. I always make this with a vidalia onion for a little sweetness, to go with the salty-ness of the salmon. Also, I roll it in a mixture of fresh chopped parsley and chopped pecans. They give it great color and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
Very easy and delicious. I rolled the mixture in cilantro instead of parsley and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
try adding liquid smoke for a smoked salmon ball
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This has been a family favorite for YEARS, since I was aboutt 3! We always serve it with triscuits and it's sooo good! Soooo easy! I can't wait to make it for Christmas this year as I haven't had it for a few years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States