Salmon Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I really had to doctor this up to keep it from being bland. I was excited to find fresh horseradish but I couldn't taste it. I put in about 2 tablespoons. I also added some garlic powder, dash of liquid smoke, white pepper and worchestersire sauce. I suggest making ahead, it tasted better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I can remember my grandmother and mother always making a salmon ball (served with wheat thins) at any party we had. I always make this with a vidalia onion for a little sweetness, to go with the salty-ness of the salmon. Also, I roll it in a mixture of fresh chopped parsley and chopped pecans. They give it great color and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Good appetizer! Didn't have any horseradish, so subbed a little bit of red wine vinegar, in the search to add a little 'bite'. Maybe spicy mustard would work also?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Very good. Disappeared fast at the party. It was easy, looked nice and tasted great. The deep pink of the ball contrasted nicely with the fresh parsley. I used red salmon and added white pepper to the ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDNIGHTMUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lingle, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
Very easy and delicious. I rolled the mixture in cilantro instead of parsley and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
This was good. We used salmon that we had smoked and home made horseradish from this site (great horseradish). Next time I will not roll in parsley. I thought it overpowered everything. I will try this next time rolled in nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Everyone liked this. In place of the salt I used about 1/2 teaspoon of garlic salt, about 2 tablespoons of green onion, and a little liquid smoke as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
This is a LONG time family favorite, except we double the onion and add 1/2 tsp liquid smoke. Spread on Ritz.. everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
sooooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
try adding liquid smoke for a smoked salmon ball
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States