Salmon Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This was really good! I'm a huge salmon fan but not the biggest avacado fan, but the two went really well together! I grilled the mushrooms with red onions instead of sauteing them with butter to save on fat. I also used Cilantro only, subsituted baby spinach for lettice, and added green olives. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ty T.
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was so delicious! The only changes I made were I omitted the mushrooms, used a baby greens salad mix, and used red wine vinegar instead of white vinegar. This was very fast to prepare and the flavors went together very well. I can't wait to make it again. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This was a great salad. It had a great taste, I really liked how the avocado complemented the other ingredients. With my changes it was a bit different from the original recipe - I omitted cilantro and jalapeno (I didn't have them) and instead of adding feta and a vinegar sauce, I added a honey dijon sauce (1 part butter, 1 part dijon mustard and 2 parts honey - like what is used for the baked dijon salmon recipe on this site). It was fantastic like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I left out the mushrooms and jalapeno, used roma tomato (and more of it), and substituted lemon juice for the vinegar. I already loved combining salmon and avocado. The cilantro and feta were interesting and tasty additions. I am sure I will make this again, perhaps with the mushrooms next time (I didn't have any on hand.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This salad was very good. I used red onion instead of the mushrooms. I did not use the vinegar but used lemon juice with the olive oil. I also did not combine the lettuce and instead just plated it. The salmon was still warm when I added it to the bowl so next time I will cook the salmon ahead of time. It may be even better if it all melds in the fridge for awhile. Will make this again. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Pretty good, but I added another big tomato and used pickled Jalapenos (about 2 TBSP)instead of fresh because my fresh ones are still on the vine. My avocado was a big one also. Put a bunch of arugula in with the lettuce to give it a more peppery flavor as well. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Very tasty and very easy! I added shredded carrots for extra nutrients, but didn't have mushrooms to add. I only used half a fresh jalapeno and that was enough. My husband said it added "just enough" surprise to his tastebuds! I liked the oil & vinegar dressing because it makes it lower caloried, but if I had fresh mangos I would add some to this salad. The mango would help take the bite out of the jalapenos. I'll will make this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMSURFBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This salad was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was a great inspiration recipe for me and I have to admit I made several changes. I eat salmon at least 3 times a week, and usually bake or grill it. I never use oil with it, as it is an oily fish to begin with. This time I decided to poach the fish using 1/2 c water, 1/2 wine, some sliced onion & tarragon. Only took 5 minutes and poaching leaves NO fishy odor in the house. I made my salad bed with romaine lettuce and added fresh mushrooms (why saute them?), avocado, and grape tomatoes. (Had no feta or would have it it too)To save time, I used a little of Paul Newman's Lite Honey Mustard Dressing. Wow! What a fantastic salad. Next time I think I'll add some red pepper and a handful of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Everybody loved this salad! I wasn't too sure about putting in the fresh jalapenos, so I put them on the side for those who wanted to try. I really liked the added kick. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States