Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
You can reduce the fat out of this recipe and add more vegetables in if desired. I wouldn't cut down on the butter though. I used half the sour cream and cheese adding in other veggies and was a wonderful side dish and pretty. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitchen Kitty
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I halved the recipe and followed the recipe exactly (with the slight exception of using dehydrated onions.) Everyone liked this including the kids. I'm thinking that next time I might mix the mashed potatoes first and then lightly stir in the spinach at the end. I found with mixing the sour cream and spinach made everything green tinged instead...just not as attractive as some of the pictures that are posted. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this for my aunt and uncle as part of a thank you dinner and they loved it. My uncle even took the leftovers for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Exceptional! Have made many times and always get raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I used Idaho potatoes and added 1/4 cup of low fat milk. i also had leftover fresh spinach so I sautéed and used that instead. it was a hit!! I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omar Abiera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I needed a potato side for Thanksgiving last minute. I found this, and thought I had all the ingredients. I did not, so, I have to say, I used the dill, sour cream, butter mix as written, then sautéed bacon, mushrooms, red pepper. I chopped all those, cooked the bacon first, used the bacon grease to cook the mushrooms, peppers oh and I used the onion also. I mixed the veggies with the bacon. I set aside and let cool. I mixed the cheese with the sour cream, dill, s an p and butter. I did add a few splashes of Franks red hot also. When I mashed the potato's, I added a splash of milk and a few pats of butter. I then mixed the bacon veggie mix with the sour cream and cheese mix. Then added the potatos. I then spread all that into a 9x13 pan and baked. I did deserve some bacon and in the last five mins of baking, I sprinkled the bacon and a handful of cheese. The top cheese melt nicely over the bacon on top, then when we scooped it out for serving, you got nice cheese and bacon in top but also in the mix too. It was so yummy! I did not have spinach, but will continue to use the base of the recipe here with my add ins. I normally do not change recipes on here, and I have to say the base recipe is good, so thank you for helping me make a great side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Msjenita08
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving. I made the serving fit 8 and used Idaho potatoes. The recipe was easy to make but the most time was taken with chopping the potatoes. I'm sort of novice/intermediate with cooking too in my late 20s. Everyone enjoyed it and got seconds. I kept adding idolized salt but didn't want to overdo it. I would have liked more salt but next time I'll use kosher salt for exact flavoring. I used a yellow onion. I added my first AR photo ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Msjenita08

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lumberton, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I admit I'm lazy and don't really mash the potatoes, I kinda just smash them. Still comes out great. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt star

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Really tasty and nice that you can embellish with other ingredients as desired. I added some chopped fresh mushrooms and green onions. Skipped the cheese as the taste was great even without it. Nice change to mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
These were wonderful the only thing I did to change this recipe was to use lite or Fat free when I could and I used fresh sautéed in garlic spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States