Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Delish! Made this recipe as-is and it got demolished, even by those members of my family that don't like healthy or green things...hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I made this the other night and loved it! it is quick & simple, my boyfriend had 3 servings and he hates spinach.... very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I decreased the sour cream and butter by half and doubled the dill. We added 1% cow's milk until it was a mashed potato consistency. We left out the cheese and didn't bake the dish. I sauteed the onion with about 1 tbsp butter until it was translucent and then added the chopped spinach and sauteed them together. Mixed everything up and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Very good, a little too fatty for my taste. I reduced the sour cream and butter to half and used low fat margarine and sour cream instead and it tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Amazing dish, very filling used half the amount of sour cream and it was perfect. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This was yummy. As per an other reviewer, I mixed the cheese in the potatoes before baking, it really did make a nicer presentation. I would make this again, perhaps adding some bacon and more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
My 10 year old daughter just loves these. She requests them weekly. Of course she also asks for cheese to be mixed into the potatoes as well as sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Abnet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Genoa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crescent, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Wow! I finally got my 5 year old to like something with spinach in it!! (Just in time to start picking some from the garden!) I didn't add the cheddar as I was out and next time, I think I'll try this with 1/2 the butter and 1/2 the sour cream (without baking) just to make it healthier, but for a once-in-awhile decadent side dish, make it as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Made these Potatoes today. Very good. Served with Grandma's Chicken Chardon from this site. Very good meal. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I thought these tasted pretty good and even better than I expected them to be. I followed the recipe, but lightened it up a bit by adding only half the amount of butter and sour cream. I also used low fat sour cream. I cooked the spinach in the microwave, covered, for 5 minutes, in 1" of water. I let it cool, drained it, squeezed out the water, and then added it to the potatoes. I ended up using 5 large russets for the 6 potatoes and used a blender to mash them to make them more creamy. Per another persons suggestions, that made the recipe, I put half of the cheese in with the mashed potatoes. The only down side to the recipe is they take some time to make and dirty quite a few dishes. They are creamy, when blended with a beater, and filling. I would just consider reducing the salt, by at least 1/4 tsp., as it is quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States