Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have made this recipe several times, usually (per others' reviews) with garlic added to the boiling potatoes, fresh spinach, and added crumbled bacon. It always gets the ultimate praise--yummy sounds from the hubs. It makes a lot, so I usually add the cheddar to only one meal's worth at a time, which is a great thing. Today I discovered that the leftovers (made without cheese) can be made into fantastic spinach gnocchi!!!! Warm the potatoes a little, then use the proportions and directions in Sandy's "Quick gnocchi" from this site. I'd never have had the guts to try making spinach gnocchi from scratch before, but using this recipe with Sandy's, they are easy easy and delicious! Thanks to the allrecipes community for making me cook like a rock star, or feel like one, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
My wife and I LOVED this! Made it just as advertised. It made a LOT so gave some to my neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I was disappointed and that surprised me. I followed the recipe, used fresh spinach, I divided the casserole, one side had dill, the other didn't. I did add garlic and bacon, and if it hadn't been for the bacon it wouldn't have had any flavor. It wasn't bad, but wasn't great either. I love spinach and I love mashed potatoes. It needed something, and I can't decide what. I felt like it needed a crunchy crust on the bottom or flaky pie crust for texture. Once baked it needed extra salt and I added pepper. If I make again I will try it w/new red potatoes, instead of Yukon Gold, mix in some parmesan cheese and feta w/the bacon and spinach to see if that doesn't give it more of a spark in the flavor dept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
We loved this recipe. I used 2 bags of fresh baby spinach and cooked it with dehydrated onions. I also boiled the potatoes with 6 cloves of fresh garlic pressed into the salted boiling water. I used reduced fat sour cream and smart balance instead of butter. I also added a little milk for better consistency. It was great! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This is excellent! For a fast option: use instant mashed potatoes. I add fresh minced garlic for extra flavor and, for fun, try adding chopped green chili peppers to taste. I like the canned ones because it's a quick way to put this dish together. If you use instant potatoes, all you'll need to do is shape the potato mixture into logs or patties, top with cheese and pop them under the broiler until the cheese melts and the potatoes are lightly browned. About 5 minutes instead of 20 in the oven. Can be made in advance in quantity and frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Love love love. Always looking for a new twist on favorite dishes. I did mix the cheese in rather than put it on top. I will add garlic next time. If using frozen spinach make sure you get as much water out as possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is very good . Made as directed the first time , using fresh spinach , sauteed , and drained . The second time made , added 6 whole cloves of garlic to the potatoes , as they boiled . Used fresh spinach , sauteed with 6 sliced green onions . Drained the spinach well , and mixed in with the mashed potatoes and garlic . Cut the butter to 1/4 c. , and stirred 1 c. cheese in with the potato , spinach mixture . Sprinkled the rest of the cheese on top . Will make again for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
It was ok. I'll probably never make it again. I had leftovers for DAYS and it just seemed like it would NOT end. Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
We had an overload of spinach from our CSA so I sautéed it with garlic and replaced the frozen. We really enjoyed this adaptation of a classic. Next time I will halve the sour cream, butter, and cheese just to cut down on the fat. Will make these again for sure. Thanks for sharing your mother's recipe Gail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Danger, Will Robinson! These are SO good, I could eat the whole pan. Change nothing with this recipe; it's perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States