Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Oh, this was SO GOOD!!! I modified with bacon grease in lieu of the butter and added some Mrs. Dash (no salt), and left the potatoes cubed. This dish is now a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I just put these in the oven and they are already the best mashed potatoes I have ever had. I am in love!! Serving them with steak and lobster for a new year's eve meal can't wait to eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcvengros
Living In: Ironwood, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a new favorite of mine. To die for. I used mostly olive oil with a bit of butter and light sour cream and fresh baby spinach. Then I used my immersion blender. After it was done I added some extra chopped onion and dill. Was even better the next day after being refrigerated over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I think i tried to make this recipe too healthy by using fat free sour cream, cutting butter to 1/4c. and eliminating cheese. I also didn't have dill on hand so used basil. It was good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I made this for two people, so I went down to two big russet potatoes, half a cup of sour cream, same amount of onion and two tablespoons or so of butter. I used 2/3rds of a bag of spinach and this made it super spinachy. I skipped the dill and also used a nice English sharp cheddar. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
No rating since I modified. Used steamed, chopped kale, a bit of garlic, !/4 cup Greek yoghurt instead of sour cream and 1/4 cup light cream cheese. It was delish! Gonna give it four stars just for the idea which ditto sounds great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Even better reheated in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Made reduced amt for 2, using combo of red and yellow potatoes,  fresh spinach and FF sour cream, garlic salt , a green onion and whipped butter.  Topped with a sprinkle of truffle salt and Italian blend cheese  .... really really good! Sent from my iPad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
THANK YOU GAIL!!!!! This was SOOOO delicious. I made a few changes to suit my taste. I doubled the dill and still couldn't taste it. Wondering if it was just super subtle flavor that I would miss if it wasn't there. I also used 16 oz of fresh spinach that I chopped in the food processor and then used the butter to saute the spinach. Reduced a lot of the liquid out of the spinach as I was afraid it would make the potatoes watery if I didn't get some of the liquid out. I wouldn't have minded omitting the step of chopping the fresh spinach. But I wanted my 6 year old to try this dish and I knew the bigger pieces/strands would be difficult for her. I also cut way down on the butter. About 1/4 cup, but could easily cut that down even more. I used really purple onion, which added a strong flavor plus a pop of color, about a 1/4 cup worth. I don't really think the cheese (extra sharp cheddar) added anything to the dish with it being on top. Will be making this dish again and adding cheese (maybe cut amount in half) mixed into the potatoes instead. I could also see how this dish would be a great base to add other vegetables. I want to make it again and add mushrooms. But could imagine so many other vegetables being added well to this! Definitely making it again. The entire family loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States