Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this for my aunt and uncle as part of a thank you dinner and they loved it. My uncle even took the leftovers for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Exceptional! Have made many times and always get raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I used Idaho potatoes and added 1/4 cup of low fat milk. i also had leftover fresh spinach so I sautéed and used that instead. it was a hit!! I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omar Abiera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I needed a potato side for Thanksgiving last minute. I found this, and thought I had all the ingredients. I did not, so, I have to say, I used the dill, sour cream, butter mix as written, then sautéed bacon, mushrooms, red pepper. I chopped all those, cooked the bacon first, used the bacon grease to cook the mushrooms, peppers oh and I used the onion also. I mixed the veggies with the bacon. I set aside and let cool. I mixed the cheese with the sour cream, dill, s an p and butter. I did add a few splashes of Franks red hot also. When I mashed the potato's, I added a splash of milk and a few pats of butter. I then mixed the bacon veggie mix with the sour cream and cheese mix. Then added the potatos. I then spread all that into a 9x13 pan and baked. I did deserve some bacon and in the last five mins of baking, I sprinkled the bacon and a handful of cheese. The top cheese melt nicely over the bacon on top, then when we scooped it out for serving, you got nice cheese and bacon in top but also in the mix too. It was so yummy! I did not have spinach, but will continue to use the base of the recipe here with my add ins. I normally do not change recipes on here, and I have to say the base recipe is good, so thank you for helping me make a great side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Msjenita08
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving. I made the serving fit 8 and used Idaho potatoes. The recipe was easy to make but the most time was taken with chopping the potatoes. I'm sort of novice/intermediate with cooking too in my late 20s. Everyone enjoyed it and got seconds. I kept adding idolized salt but didn't want to overdo it. I would have liked more salt but next time I'll use kosher salt for exact flavoring. I used a yellow onion. I added my first AR photo ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Msjenita08

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lumberton, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I admit I'm lazy and don't really mash the potatoes, I kinda just smash them. Still comes out great. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt star

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Really tasty and nice that you can embellish with other ingredients as desired. I added some chopped fresh mushrooms and green onions. Skipped the cheese as the taste was great even without it. Nice change to mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
These were wonderful the only thing I did to change this recipe was to use lite or Fat free when I could and I used fresh sautéed in garlic spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I have been waiting until I have a big crowd over to make these (I love getting lots of feedback on new recipes!), and I followed directions exactly except for two things: I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream and, after tasting the final product, doubled the dill because I thought it tasted so good. They were marvellous, my new favorite mashed potato recipe, and my guests loved them. Thank you for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States