Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Love love love. Always looking for a new twist on favorite dishes. I did mix the cheese in rather than put it on top. I will add garlic next time. If using frozen spinach make sure you get as much water out as possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is very good . Made as directed the first time , using fresh spinach , sauteed , and drained . The second time made , added 6 whole cloves of garlic to the potatoes , as they boiled . Used fresh spinach , sauteed with 6 sliced green onions . Drained the spinach well , and mixed in with the mashed potatoes and garlic . Cut the butter to 1/4 c. , and stirred 1 c. cheese in with the potato , spinach mixture . Sprinkled the rest of the cheese on top . Will make again for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
It was ok. I'll probably never make it again. I had leftovers for DAYS and it just seemed like it would NOT end. Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
We had an overload of spinach from our CSA so I sautéed it with garlic and replaced the frozen. We really enjoyed this adaptation of a classic. Next time I will halve the sour cream, butter, and cheese just to cut down on the fat. Will make these again for sure. Thanks for sharing your mother's recipe Gail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Danger, Will Robinson! These are SO good, I could eat the whole pan. Change nothing with this recipe; it's perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This is so good just as written that we had this twice in one week! Thanks Gail (and Sally?) for a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Probably some of the best mashed potatoes I've ever made! I used hickory smoked cheddar, but I just mixed them into the potatoes instead of putting it on top of the potatoes. Excellent recipe that I plan on using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This dish was awesome, I couldn't convince my family it wasn't store bought. I followed the recipe exactly. Everyone at the party went for seconds which was surprising because they are super filing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiMbOs Mama1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
omg wow.. this was awesome.. we completely forgot to add the chopped onion and didn't miss it at all.. used yogurt instead of the sour cream bc that's what we had on hand.. ty so much for such a great recipe~~UPDATE: this time we left out the cheese, quadrupled the onion, and halved the butter.. we sauteed the onion first before mixing it in with everything else.. so super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I used fresh spinach, just sauteed until limp. Delicious. Will make again. Thank you, Sally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States