Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Delicious! These have to be one of the best mashed potatoes ever. They are creamy (I even used less butter and low fat sour cream) and just heavenly. The only change I made was to use fresh spinach and add a clove of garlic, because I had a whole bag to use up, but other than that I kept them the same. The addition of the dill is perfect, so make sure not to skip it. These are definitely going into my rotation (and the pefect way to get the guys to eat their spinach). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These were delicious! I sauteed a 9 ounce bag of fresh spinach with 8 cloves of garlic and a yellow onion before adding it to the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very interesting combination, that was very good!! Great way to use those leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is one of my go-to side dishes any time we're serving beef. My entire family loves these, and the kids don't even complain about eating their spinach! I sometimes whip the potatoes using my hand mixer for an almost souffle like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Kennedy Gant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Good, but probably won't make again as these ingredients could probably come together and make something much tastier with a few tweaks. I used cottage cheese made into sour cream (dieter's faux sour cream), added a pinch or two of nutmeg, had a little bit of blue cheese that needed to be used so I tossed that in too and a bit of panko on top. I chose to mix my cheese into the potato-spinach mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I had to give this 5 stars because this ended up tasting WAY better than I thought it did. If anyone is health-conscious I made a few choices that greatly lowered the calories & fat without sacrificing taste. Instead of frozen spinach I wilted fresh spinach with 2 cloves of garlic in a non-stick pan. I completely omitted the butter and sour cream and added half a cup of milk instead. I also used about half a cup of cheese instead... still turned out delicious and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I used fresh spinach that I sauteed in a bit of the butter with some fresh minced garlic and a little more chopped onion. I used reduced fat cheddar cheese and organic red potatoes. We thought this was good but I think it would have been bland had I not thought to add in the garlic and extra onion. I really liked this but my family was just not digging it. Next time, I think I'd like to add a little more spices, like maybe dry ranch seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Pretty tasty. They were a little too dense for my taste but I think that's a preference matter. Very filling & quite rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
delicious! I have a little brother who never eats spinach, and it wasn't even noticed in this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I microwaved the spinach for a minute or two to defrost it and it was fine. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States