Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
this casserole was a hit in my home last night even though I used some substitutes out of necessity. I wanted to use up left over mashed potatoes and left over spinach. my spinach had been sauteed with diced tomatoes and jalapeno. so with that extra zing, I did not add the dill. I also added a half cup of the cheddar cheese to the mixture and mixed in Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. Like I said, an instant hit. next time I will plan on the original ingredients.thanks Gail for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was very good. I did it with fresh spinach and added garlic. mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is a great new (to me) way to make mashed potatoes! We really enjoyed them. I scaled this down to two servings using fresh spinach, green onion and omitting the dill weed. I sautéed my spinach with some minced garlic in a little EVOO. I mashed the potatoes with the butter and sour cream and allowed them to cool to room temperature before folding in the remaining ingredients, including the cheese. I didn’t want the cheese to turn my potatoes the color of orange sherbet so cooling them took care of that. Worked just great! I made these early in the afternoon, using individual ramekins and drizzled them with a little additional melted butter, covered and refrigerated them until it was time to re-heat. I am thinking these would be great for entertaining, as I’m sure they could be made at least a day in advance. Terrific recipe!! Thank you Gail Kane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Wonderful dish! Made little dishes and shared with family, everyone really enjoyed the flavor. My little guy (10) says " Mom you're the best cook!" Thank you Ms. Gail for the recipe. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bessemer, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Very good. My husband, who is used to eating at fine restaurants on business and is fussy when he gets home said it was delicious! We served this with grilled salmon and it went well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I added some garlic powder and spike, and doubled the cream cheese,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This may be a good option to get little kids to eat their spinach, but it doesn't work as well for adults. Without the spinach, this would have been an excellent mashed potato dish, however the spinach left a nagging flavor on your tongue after each bite. You couldn't really tell what you were tasting, but you knew it wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavor7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I love mashed potatoes with butter and sour cream; and I love spinach so I knew this would be a winner with me. I boiled the russet potatoes in chicken stock with fresh garlic for added flavor. I mashed the potatoes (with the garlic) and set it aside. I sauteed 1 bag of organic spinach in a little butter with garlic. Added it to the mashed russet potatoes. I omitted the dill weed completely. I added a little more butter to the mashed potatoes and all the rest of the ingredients (sour cream, cheddar cheese, green onions, etc). After I seasoned the mashed potatoes with salt and mixing everything I topped it off with more cheddar cheese. I was so pleased with the results. What a delicious comforting dish! I loved the spinach mixed in the mashed potatoes. The sour cream always adds creaminess with butter mixed in. This went nicely with the," Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast, "also from this website."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
even better the 2nd time: Added mix of cheeses to topping (Parm, Ched, Moz, Asagio all shredded).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States